The library is continually updating its collection of social work related resources for researchers and practitioners. Recent books include:
Anti-Oppressive Social Work Practice by
Grounded in principles and values of fairness and equality, anti-oppressive practice (AOP) lies at the heart of social work and social work education. This book will equip you with the tools and knowledge to address the concepts of diversity, oppression, power and powerless, and practice in ethically appropriate ways for contemporary social work practice.
Physical book available in York Stacks.
Applied Cross-Cultural Data Analysis for Social Work by
Applied Cross-Cultural Data Analysis for Social Work is a research guide for examining and interpreting data for the purpose of cultural group comparisons. This book aims to provide practical applications in statistical approaches of data analyses that are commonly used in cross-cultural research and evaluation. Readers are presented with step-by-step illustrations in the use of descriptive, bivariate, and multivariate statistics to compare cross-cultural population using large-scale, population-based survey data. These techniques have important applications in health, mental health, and social science research relevant to social work and other helping professions, especially in providing a framework of evidence to examine health disparities using population-health data. For each statistical approach discussed in this book, Thanh V. Tran and Keith T. Chan explain the underlying purpose, basic assumptions, types of variables, application of the Stata statistical package, the presentation of statistical findings, and the interpretation of results. Unlike previous guides on statistical approaches and data analysis in social work, this book explains and demonstrates the strategies of cross-cultural data analysis using descriptive and bivariate analysis, multiple regression, additive and multiplicative interaction, mediation, SEM and HLM for subgroup analysis and cross-cultural comparisons. This book also includes sample syntax from Stata for social work researchers to conduct cross-cultural analysis with their own research.
Assessment in Social Work by
Assessment is a core component of social work. Since first publication, Assessment in Social Work has provided students and practitioners with a clear overview of the complex issues they face and a map of the theory they need to draw on in order to conduct thorough, effective and meaningful assessments.
The Complexities of Home in Social Work by
Home is a complex and multifaceted concept. This book revisions how 'home' is used in social work literature by showing how it is positioned as being discursively represented, materially experienced and embodied, and multiply imagined as symbolic and existential. Drawing on multidisciplinary understandings of 'home' and intersectionality, it analyses the privileging and disadvantaging social policies and complex interactional practices that contribute to one's sense of home including homelessness, mobility and the politics and complexities of homeownership. Providing social workers with practice considerations for different areas of social work, this book analyses how to makes and build a sense of home and community belonging for a broad range of client groups. It will be of interest to all academics and students of social work, sociology, public policy, housing policy, gender studies and human geography.
Correctional Assessment, Casework, and Counseling by
This book combines the latest in sociology, psychology, and biology to present evidence-based research on what works in community and institutional corrections. It spans from the theoretical underpinning of correctional counseling to concrete examples and tools necessary for professionals in the field.
Creative Approaches to Social Work Practice Learning by
This concise guide enables practice educators to be more creative in the teaching, supervision and assessment of students. Containing stand-alone, but inter-linked chapters that each cover an innovative or creative approach in practice education, this book provides accessible material and practice guidance to enable practice educators to cultivate a creative approach to learning. This includes contemporary and diverse ideas around the teaching, supervision and assessment of social work students who are undertaking their practice learning placements.
Each chapter is written by a qualified practice educator enabling them to draw upon their experiences of effectively supporting the development of students and the building of a learning relationship. The book bridges theory and practice, providing a straightforward and useful resource for practice educators to draw upon, thus supporting their research-mindedness to inform their practice and contribute to their knowledge-base.
Disrupting Whiteness in Social Work by
Focussing on the epistemic - the way in which knowledge is understood, constructed, transmitted and used - this book shows the way social work knowledge has been constructed from within a white western paradigm, and the need for a critique of whiteness within social work at this epistemic level. Social work, emerging from the western Enlightenment world, has privileged white western knowledge in ways that have been, until recently, largely unexamined within its professional discourse. This imposition of white western ways of knowing has led to a corresponding marginalisation of other forms of knowledge. Drawing on views from social workers from Asia, the Pacific region, Africa, Australia and Latin America, this book also includes a glossary of over 40 commonly used social work terms, which are listed with their epistemological assumptions identified. Opening up a debate about the received wisdom of much social work language as well as challenging the epistemological assumptions behind conventional social work practice, this book will be of interest to all scholars and students of social work as well as practitioners seeking to develop genuinely decolonised forms of practice.
Exploring Islamic Social Work: Between Community and the Common Good by
Focus on Muslim social services that go beyond Muslim clients to also address the needs of the wider society. Includes case studies of practical fields of Islamic social work including educational programs, family counseling, and resettlement of prisoners. A post-secular, interdisciplinary approach to social work linking theological reflection with social scientific insights. Open access full text electronic book.
Program Evaluation for Social Workers by
Over the course of 20 years and eight editions, the goals of the book have remained the same: to prepare students to participate in evaluative activities within their organizations, become beginning critical producers and consumers of the professional evaluative literature, and reap thebenefits of more advanced evaluation courses and texts. The authors aim to meet these objectives by presenting a unique approach that is realistic, practical, applied, and user friendly. Unlike other textbooks on the market, Program Evaluation for Social Workers presents both program-levelevaluation and case-level evaluation methods; assuming that neither of these two distinct approaches alone adequately reflects the realities of the field, the book demonstrates how they can instead complement each other. This integration of approaches provides an accessible, adaptable, and realisticframework for students and beginning practitioners to more easily grasp and implement in the real world.
Putting Professional Leadership into Practice in Social Work by
The ability to demonstrate professional leadership is a core requirement for social work students and social workers operating at all levels. This comprehensive textbook is ideal for any student on a social work course, from undergraduate to postgraduate study, and will go onto serve as a useful reference for more experienced social work professionals. this book engages in the essential discussion of what professional leadership means in the context of contemporary social work and why this is considered to be important for the future of the profession. Each chapter contains illustrative case studies, a range of interactive activities, a summary of key point and suggestions for further reading that enable students and qualified social workers to understand the knowledge, skills and attributes required in practicing professional leadership in real life contexts.
Reclaiming Community by
Approximately 2.4 million Black youth participate in after-school programs, which offer a range of support, including academic tutoring, college preparation, political identity development, cultural and emotional support, and even a space to develop strategies and tools for organizing and activism. In Reclaiming Community, Bianca Baldridge tells the story of one such community-based program, Educational Excellence (EE), shining a light on both the invaluable role youth workers play in these spaces, and the precarious context in which such programs now exist. Drawing on rich ethnographic data, Baldridge persuasively argues that the story of EE is representative of a much larger and understudied phenomenon. With the spread of neoliberal ideology and its reliance on racism--marked by individualism, market competition, and privatization--these bastions of community support are losing the autonomy that has allowed them to embolden the minds of the youth they serve. Baldridge captures the stories of loss and resistance within this context of immense external political pressure, arguing powerfully for the damage caused when the same structural violence that Black youth experience in school, starts to occur in the places they go to escape it.
Self-Worth in Children and Young People by
Challenges current adult-led approaches to working with vulnerable young people, and introduces practitioners and students to creative methods that will enhance the self-worth of children and teenagers. Anthropologist and social worker, Rachel Burr, outlines clear communication techniques for working with children and young people to support them towards self-determination. By critically examining the dominant approaches to children and young people's mental health, she provides straightforward practical strategies that can be used to address emotional upset, loss, and aid recovery. There has never been a more pressing time to encourage young people and children to engage in methods that allow them to develop a new sense of self-worth and purpose. Whether you're a professional already working with children, or a student studying for a child-related qualification, this strength-based approach will help you to help children and young people develop a stronger sense of self which can be taken forward and used independently.
Social Work, Criminal Justice, and the Death Penalty by
Social workers have their hands in a lot of big sociopolitical issues. When it comes to the death penalty, their involvement is especially crucial. Social workers might support those receiving the sentence, engage with the families of those sentenced, participate in mitigation work, examine the critical discourse (psychiatric, psychological, and legal) leading up to and after the sentence, contribute to research surrounding mental health as it relates to the criminal justice system, or even use social advocacy and policy practice to examine the death penalty. In Social Work, Criminal Justice, and the Death Penalty, professionals with backgrounds spanning, law, forensics, academia, and social work combine and explain their experiences surrounding this prominent social justice issue. The book is broken into three sections: Criminal Justice Considerations, Sociopolitical Considerations, and Applied Social Work Considerations. Across each section, chapters provide explicit implications for the social work professional in a criminal justice setting. The resulting volume equips beginning professionals and students with a holistic overview of the intersection of criminal justice and social justice.
Social Work and Mental Health by
Clear, comprehensive, and accessible, this textbook presents an overview of the contemporary American mental health system and its impact on clients and social workers. The failure of the system to provide quality care for the mentally ill is explored, including issues and policies that social workers face in accessing mental health care for their clients, while also discussing the ways in which social workers can improve the overall functioning of the system and promote the development and expansion of policy and practice innovations. This is the first textbook to examine the lack of understanding of the roots of mental illness, the challenges in classification of mental disorders for social workers, and difficult behavioral manifestations of mental illness. By looking at the flaws and disparities in the provision of mental health services, especially in relation to the criminal justice system and homelessness and mental illness, social work students will be able to apply policy and practice to improve mental health care in their everyday work. A focus on the lived experiences of the mentally ill and their families, along with the experiences of social workers, adds a unique, real-world perspective. Key Features: Delivers a clear and accessible overview and critique of social work in the broader context of mental health care in the USReviews historical and current mental health policies, laws, and treatments, and assesses their impact on social services for the mentally illInvestigates racial and ethnic disparities in mental health provisionIncorporates the experiences of people with mental illness as well as those of social workersOffers recommendations for future social work development of mental health policies and servicesIncludes Instructors Manual with PowerPoint slides, chapter summaries and objectives, and discussion questionsAddresses CSWE core competency requirements
The Social Work Degree Apprenticeship by
Developed specifically for the social work degree apprenticeship, this book guides apprentices through the unique requirements of this new qualifying route. With contributions from academics, employers and students, it provides a broad and inclusive perspective to build effective working relationships. The social work degree apprenticeship is unlike any other qualifying route to become a professional social worker. Apprentices have to juggling a number of competing demands, balancing their work and learning commitments, the expectations of their employer and those of their university. It can be intense, high-paced and stressful, and very often apprentices are mature students who may not have been in formal learning environment for many years. This book has been written specifically with apprentices in mind and by a range of stakeholders, not just academics, who draw upon their experience and expertise to help apprentices successfully navigate this qualification. Key theoretical concepts are introduced throughout, practical advice given and learning features encourage reflection and application, making this a go-to textbook, whether it's your first time taking a degree or you're a mature student returning to study - this is an essential companion to your learning journey, helping you manage your relationship with your university and employer.
The Social Work Field Placement by
This unique core text helps BSW and MSW students structure their field placement learning around the nine CSWE professional social work competencies. Empowering students to go beyond merely completing tasks, the book facilitates mastery and integration of these competencies by elucidating key concepts and applying them to realistic competency-based case scenarios. Each user-friendly chapter--directly linked to a particular competency--promotes thought-provoking reflection about field work with critical thinking questions, a detailed case example, and an online competency reflection log template. These tools reinforce learning by connecting competencies directly to students' internship experiences. Cases are structured to serve as models when students prepare their own cases and include a review of the competency; detailed practice settings; socioeconomic and context factors at micro, macro, and mezzo levels; a problem overview; an assessment of client strengths and weaknesses; and a closing summary. Additional learning aids include chapter opening vignettes and objectives, plus chapter summaries. Web and video links offer students a wealth of supplemental resources, and a robust instructors package provides teachers with PowerPoints, written competency assignments with grading rubrics, and discussion exercises. The print version includes free, searchable, digital access to entire contents of the book. Key Features: Integrates field placement experiences with the nine CSWE 2015 competenciesPromotes thought-provoking reflection about fieldwork with detailed case studies and challenging learning toolsIncludes discussions of ethical dilemmas, technology, and social media to reflect growing use and the challenges associatedIncludes online instructors' resources including, PowerPoints, written competency assignments with grading rubrics, and class discussion field reflection activitiesPrint version includes free, searchable, digital access to entire contents of the book
Social Work Practice by
This primary social work practice text, built around the nine core 2015 CSWE competencies, is the only book available that provides students with the benefits of a fully integrated competency-based approach. Social Work Practice: A Competency-Based Approach immediately immerses students in the competencies required for social work practice at the micro, mezzo and macro levels. Designed for use in both upper level BSW and foundation level MSW social work practice courses, the book is uniquely structured to deliver the knowledge and skills students need to develop mastery of the professional social work competencies. Chapters provide a comprehensive overview of the theories, concepts, and practice components related to each competency. Engaging vignettes, chapter objectives that outline key concepts, abundant case examples, critical-thinking questions, and a detailed case summary with discussion questions in each chapter, help students deepen their understanding of practical applications of the nine core competencies. Each chapter uses the same case to perfectly illustrate the complexity of social work practice and the interconnections among the professional competencies. A robust supplementary instructor package includes PowerPoints, competency-based class assignments with grading rubrics, and sample syllabi. Print version of book includes free, searchable, digital access to entire contents.Key Features: Uniquely organized with a fully integrated competency-based approachDevotes one or more chapters to each of the nine CSWE professional competenciesDelivers abundant case studies that facilitate in-depth understanding and integration of competenciesProvides case vignettes, critical thinking and discussion questions, and chapter summariesIncludes supplementary instructor resources such as PowerPoints, group discussion questions, and competency-based written assignments with grading rubricsOffers sample syllabi for two separate one-semester courses and a seven-week online courseIncludes Student Resources, featuring online forms, templates, exercises, plans, and more to provide students with ample practice opportunities
Social Work Values and Ethics by
For decades, teachers and practitioners have turned to Frederic G. Reamer's Social Work Values and Ethics as the leading introduction to ethical decision making, dilemmas, and professional conduct in practice. A case-driven, concise, and comprehensive textbook for undergraduate and graduate social work programs, this book surveys the most critical issues for social work practitioners. The fifth edition incorporates significant updates to the National Association of Social Workers Code of Ethics and new practice and model regulatory standards used by social service and licensing agencies around the world. Reamer also focuses on how social workers should navigate the digital world through discussion of the ethical issues that arise from practitioner use of online services and social networking sites to deliver services, communicate with clients, and provide information to the public, and what standards will protect confidential information transmitted electronically. He highlights potential conflicts between professional ethics and legal guidelines and expands discussions of informed consent, confidentiality and privileged communication, boundaries and dual relationships, documentation, conflicts of interest, and risk management. Conceptually rich and attuned to the complexities of ethical decision making, Social Work Values and Ethics is unique in striking the right balance among history, theory, and practical application.
Social Work with Autistic People by
This book will help social workers and practitioners to find achievable solutions to support autistic people - including those with complex needs - to live fulfilling lives in their communities. Far too many autistic people are currently in inappropriate institutional placements, putting their basic human rights at risk and experiencing a poor quality of life. Good quality support for autistic people is achievable, even in a social care system under pressure. This book will help practitioners to develop high quality community support to facilitate discharges and prevent admissions, by providing them with effective, practical strategies to communicate with and more effectively support autistic people right across the spectrum. Common assumptions and beliefs are challenged, including the idea that 'behaviours' are an inevitable part of autism, and practical approaches are offered to promote autonomy, respect for human rights and empathy with autistic perspectives as a basis for preventing distressed behaviour. This will enable practitioners to support and empower all autistic people to achieve a good quality of life in their communities.
Stress, Trauma, and Decision-Making for Social Workers by
Social workers regularly make high-risk, high-impact decisions: determining that a child has been abused; that an individual may take their own life; or that someone with a history of violence poses harm to another. In the course of this work, social workers are exposed to acute and prolonged workplace trauma and stress that may result in posttraumatic stress, compassion fatigue, and burnout. These effects not only impact practitioners, but also the decisions that social workers make and ultimately the quality of the services that they provide. In this book, Cheryl Regehr explores the intersection between workplace stress, trauma exposure, and professional decision-making in social workers. She weaves together practice experience, research on the impact of stress and trauma on performance and decision-making in other high-risk professions including paramedics and police officers, and the empirical study of competence and decision-making in social work practice. Covering a wide range of research and theory, she surveys practical approaches to reducing stress and trauma exposure, mitigating their effects in social work practice, and improving decision-making. This book is critical reading for all social workers who engage in high-stakes decision-making, from those newly embarking on a career to expert practitioners.
A Student's Guide to Placements in Health and Social Care Settings by
Supporting students on placements in health and social care settings, this accessible guide provides a framework for understanding the theory behind successful practice as well as the critical skills needed to apply it. A Student's Guide to Placements in Health and Social Care Settings takes theory beyond the classroom and apply it to real settings, enabling students to recognise their own learning journey and develop their own distinct professional identity within a wider interprofessional context. This is a key resource for placement experience with insights from experts and advice direct from students who have already been on placement. With clear guidelines, and structured so that you can dip into different chapters as needed, it responds to the unique nature of placement opportunities and is the first line resource students should turn to. Whatever course you're studying in the caring profession - Social Work, Health and Social Care, Youth Work, Nursing or Counselling - this is essential reading to help understand how theory can support and improve your placement experience, ensuring you get the very most out of it.
Transforming Social Work Field Education by
Social work field education in Canada is in crisis. New understanding and approaches are urgently needed. Innovative and sustainable models need to be explored and adopted. As professionals, social workers are expected to use research to inform their practice and to contribute to the production of research. Yet many social workers are reluctant to integrate research into their practice and into field education. Transforming Social Work Field Education encourages the adoption of research and scholarship into the practice of social work, especially field education. It offers current theoretical concepts and perspectives that shape social work field education and provides case studies of practice research grounded in the experiences of diverse communities and countries. Highlighting cutting-edge research and scholarship, each chapter addresses critical issues in social work practice and their implications for field education. Bringing together scholars at various stages of their careers, this book fosters a meaningful dialogue on the dynamic, complex, and multi-faceted nature of social work practice, research, and innovation in the critical area of field education. A vivid and original work, it stimulates interest and discussion on the integration of research and scholarship in social work field education in Canada and around the world.
Did you know that you can reserve books online ahead of your visit so that they're ready for you to pick up? Books can be requested through OneSearch using the Request Item option. (See our Onesearch how-to guide for more info on using Onesearch.) Once you've placed a request, you will receive confirmation when the item is ready for you to pick up.
You can also stop by the library to browse for books, use computers or study rooms, and borrow reserve textbooks. Ask for assistance at the Circulation & Reserves desk, or at the Reference desk.
Social work is an interdisciplinary field and can include topics related to psychology, research methods, government policies, healthcare, diversity studies, and social sciences. If you'd like to browse the library's print collection, the majority of social work print resources can be found under the Library of Congress (LC) "HV" call number in the library's stack collection. Call number HV encompasses subject areas related to social services, social welfare, criminology, social justice, and social work with families, children, teenagers, elderly people, people with disabilities, etc.
You can also find any book—print or digital—by using OneSearch. You can search for specific titles, or even keywords related to social work topics.
York Library has put together several featured collections of print & online materials to highlight specific resources, including social work. You can browse the Social Work Collection and even search within the collection to find key resources in your field.
The library is committed to providing course texts for the MSW program. Publisher restrictions mean that not all texts are available to us to purchase in electronic format, but we update our collection whenever we are able to do so. Books linked below are available in print or digital form as noted. Other texts that we do not currently have available are listed, and we will purchase and update this list whenever possible.
The Dynamics of Social Welfare Policy by 
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
Empowerment Series: Direct Social Work Practice : Theory and Skills by
Human Behavior and the Social Environment
Rogers, Anissa
4th Ed
9781138819504
Breaking Out of the Box by 
Breaking Out of the Box by 
Toward Equity in Health by 
International Social Work by 
Principles of Planning, Evaluation, and Research for Health Care Programs Packaged with Companion Website Access Code by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders - DSM-5 by 
Improving Healthcare Through Advocacy by Advocacy for Better Health care: Linking Evidence- Based Medicine and Ethics With Case and Policy Advocacy
Jansson, Bruce S.
9780470505298
Handbook of Health Social Work
Mccoyd, Judith L.M.
3rd Ed
The Changing Face of Health Care Social Work by 
The Changing Face of Health Care Social Work by 
Clinical Social Work Practice by 
Clinical Social Work Practice by 
Beginnings, Middles, and Ends by