The Modern Language Association (MLA) Style for writing and formatting research papers is generally used by subject areas in the humanities, including languages, literature, literary criticism, and cultural studies.
In general, it is simpler than other styles and features parenthetical in-text citations and an alphabetized list of references at the end. Entries for the list of works cited must be alphabetical and double-spaced, with indentations after the first line of each citation.
MLA Style Website
Visit the MLA Style website for quick answers on references and formatting questions and advice on writing for the humanities. The site contains most of the information in the MLA Handbook. The advice on using MLA format has just about everything you need to write a paper in MLA style. The site is fully searchable and includes:
Free Citation Tools
There are a lot of tools to help you create citations automatically, whether you have a database citation or the OneSearch citation tool. However, you may want to cite things you find elsewhere. If you need to create an MLA citation, try Citation Builder — it's an excellent tool to automatically generate citations for print or online sources: lib.ncsu.edu/citationbuilder
MLA Handbook
MLA Made Easy by 
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers by Citation Generating Tools
These resources can help you format your bibliographies and references:
Most of the citations tools are updated regularly, but you can always explore the rest of citations research guide for more information on commonly-used styles.