LibGuides: Pharmaceutical Science: Articles

Specialized Databases

SciFinder
SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. SciFinder Scholar is the electronic version of "Chemical Abstracts." Before using SciFinder Scholar Web Edition for the first time, you will need to register for an account.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions.
MedlinePlus Drugs, Supplements, and Herbal Information This link opens in a new window
Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Merck Manual for Health Care Professionals This link opens in a new window
Merck Manual Home Health Handbook for Patients & Caregivers This link opens in a new window

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database with over 7,000 scholarly publications.
Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the research and development spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines, containing full-text for more than 1,400 journals with coverage dating back to 1913.

General Science Collection
A bibliographic database that indexes articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Index also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).
more...less...
Subjects covered: Astronomy, Atmospheric Science, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Conservation, Earth Science, Environment, Food, Genetics, Health, Mathematics, Medicine, Microbiology, Nutrition, Oceanography, Physics, Physiology, Zoology.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database containing full text journals in disciplines such as History, Economics, Asian Studies, Classics, Archeology, Ecology, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population, Sociology, and Statistics as well as core titles in African, Latin American, Slavic, and Middle Eastern studies. The journals are complete runs, starting with the first issue through the most recent year that has been digitized so far.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to journals primarily in the areas of science, technology, social science, and medicine. Full text is available for over 700 titles from 1997 to date. Abstracts from 1995 to date.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.