Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Generators: Advantages and Disadvantages: Bibliographic Management Systems

This research guide offers an overview of the advantages and problems of citation creators or citation generators that are integrated in library OneSearch, databases, or are available online as free bibliographic tools to facilitate the creation of works

RefWorks

 

RefWorks is a powerful online research management system that is designed to help researchers gather, organize, annotate, store and share all types of information and generate different styles of citations and bibliographies. 

As York faculty and students, you can create an account on campus or in VPN environment at home, then you can log in anywhere. With RefWorks, you can

  • Import bibliographic data from OneSearch, GoogleScholar, or other databases
  • Manage your resources by using folders or adding tags
  • Create in-text citations and annotated bibliographies
  • Create reference lists in different citation styles
  • Access sources within Microsoft Word

Zotero

 

Developed at George Mason University, Zotero is a free open source utility that works with web browsers, such as Firefox or Chorme, to help users collect, store, and manage bibliographic data and related research materials. With Zotero, you can

  • Save the full reference information from library catalogs, databases, PubMed, and even Amazon to the Zotero library
  • Add notes, tags, or attachments to saved webpages or full text PDF
  • Generate citations and bibliographies in various styles
  • Create your own customized citation style

EndNote

EndNote is an online reference management solution that allows users to collect references from a variety of resources, organize, share and access them from any computer. With the installation of Microsoft Word, users can create bibliographies as they write a paper.

Asst Prof/Head of Cataloging & Serials

Junli Diao's picture
Junli Diao
Contact:
94 - 20 Guy R. Brewer Blvd., Jamaica, NY 11451
7182622302
Website

Mendeley

 

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network. Users can automatically generate bibliographies, and collaborate with other researchers online.