Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Generators: Advantages and Disadvantages: Online Bibliographic Tools

This research guide offers an overview of the advantages and problems of citation creators or citation generators that are integrated in library OneSearch, databases, or are available online as free bibliographic tools to facilitate the creation of works

Citation Builder (recommended)

Citation Builder is a free online citation generator developed by North Carolina State University Libraries.

  • Clean, simple, easy-to-use, up-to-date
  • Offers various citation styles, including APA 6 and 7, MLA 7 and 8, Chicago (author-date) and Council of Science Editors (author-date)
  • User registrations not required
  • One citation at a time and unable to create a list of bibliographies
  • No spelling auto-check

NoodleTools Express (recommended)

NoodleTools Express is a free online citation generator developed by Debbie and Damon Abilock.

  • Clean, simple and easy-to-use
  • Produces citations in APA, Chicago and MLA styles (most recent editions) 
  • Each citation must be saved to your document
  • Regular version fills the need for an instant citation
  • Subscription version allows users to create an entire source list for a research paper or get bibliographic data from WorldCat to facilitate bibliography creation

KnightCite (recommended)

KnightCite is a free online citation generator developed and maintained by the Hekman Library of Calvin College.

  • Produces APA 6, MLA 8, and Chicago 17, and Turabian 9 styles to a large variety of sources
  • Registered version allows users to save and cumulate citations into bibliographies
  • User interface all aligned to left with small font needs improvement 

Citation Machine (not recommended)

Online free citation generation with plagiarism check but overwhelmed by distractive commercials!! 

EasyBib (not recommended)

EasyBib in an online citation generator producing citations in APA, Chicago, and MLA styles. One can search books, journals, newspapers, websites, and databases to generate a citation immediately. The Premium edition provides more useful functions, such as taking notes, importing data and sharing bibliography. The regular version is overwhelmed with flashy commercials!! 

Asst Prof/Head of Cataloging & Serials

Junli Diao's picture
Junli Diao
Contact:
94 - 20 Guy R. Brewer Blvd., Jamaica, NY 11451
7182622302
Website