Spring 2022 Library Hours
The library will be closed on the following holidays:
York Library is open for Spring 2022. We recommend reserving your books online ahead of your visit so that they're ready for you to pick up.
Off-Campus Database Access
To access databases from off-campus, you must be a currently enrolled student, faculty member, or staff member with an active CUNY login. When signing into OneSearch or using any York Library databases, you will prompted to enter your CUNY login information. This is the simplest way to connect to library resources, and it's what we recommend.
CUNY Login troubleshooting
In the past, you may have used the York VPN, but this is no longer recommended for database access. If you are struggling to connect to databases, please make sure you are not logged in to the VPN.
Personal Research Consultations
York librarians are available for in-depth assistance with your research assignments. Learn how to:
Frequently Asked Questions
York Library Ebooks
In addition to many full text ebooks that can be found in OneSearch, York Library also has many new titles available in Ebook Central, EBSCO, and Wiley Online Library. Use your CUNY login when prompted to access these ebooks remotely.
You can also use the search box directly below:
Free ebooks and online textbooks
You can go directly to any of the library databases on the Databases and More page, where all library databases are listed alphabetically. If you're not sure the name of the database you should use, you can browse our Databases by Subject guide to identify a good database for your research topic.
Using OneSearch to Find Articles (and more)
You can use OneSearch to search all of York Library's databases at once, but there are other tools in OneSearch that can also help you manage your research. Use OneSearch to:
The library has a detailed guide on using this search tool here: OneSearch: Where to Begin
If you already have some keywords in mind, you can type them in the search bar below to find full text articles:
OneSearch also has tools to help you organize your research and get citations. You can also find a brief video tutorial on using the citation tools in OneSearch.
All student services will be offered virtually for Fall 2020 and Spring 2021. If you have general questions, please contact the Office of Enrollment Management and Student Affairs at 718-262-2331 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Collaborative Learning Center
The Collaborative Learning Center is offering in-person and online tutoring. You can schedule an appointment with the CLC if you need one-on-one tutoring help.
The food pantry will be available by appointment by emailing email@example.com. York also encourages students to seek pantries that are close to home and require minimal travel. Click here for a list of CUNY pantry locations and contact information. Before visiting, contact any pantry in advance to ensure that it is open. You may also try the following three sites to find pantries near your home address:
As the ongoing developments around COVID-19 are changing rapidly, please be sure to call the pantry first to confirm hours before you visit.
The counseling center is open virtually. The counseling services at York College are free for eligible students. To schedule an appointment, call the main number at 718-262-2272 or 718-262-2297, or email firstname.lastname@example.org. If you are interested in the Better Together program, a support group for students who have been affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, you can sign up by emailing email@example.com or firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you need assistance in securing technology, please contact the Office of Information Technology as soon as possible. If you have need a device or have one to return, please use the forms on the Device Distribution page. For other issues, you can contact IT via phone (718-262-5311), email (email@example.com), or the YConnect Self-service portal.
Temporary Free Resources
Annual Reviews has opened up several freely accessible collections, including:
Free content related to COVID-19 (temporarily open access to all)
See also York Library's research guide on COVID-19: libguides.york.cuny.edu/COVID-19
York Library Resources
Use the search box below to look for articles from York Library journals & databases:
As we all adapt to teaching across multiple modalities, the Library continues to offer online services for students and faculty.
We would like to remind you that many of the Library’s books and journals are available electronically and are accessible off-campus.
All CUNY Libraries have suspended regular overdue fines, as well as overdue fines for recalled materials. All CUNY Libraries now allow at least nine renewals of circulating items.
Interlibrary loan services for print materials are available, but may be impacted by loan policies at other lending libraries. Article requests are still welcomed.
We now offer live chat reference. Chat reference hours are between 9am-9pm Monday-Thursday, 9am-6pm on Friday, and 9am-5pm on Saturday -- see Library Hours for holidays and other changes. You can submit a ticket outside of these hours, and we are also available via email.
Library faculty can provide instruction in-person or online via Blackboard, Zoom, or your preferred platform. Please request a class through the form if you would like to explore these options for your students.
Textbooks and Open Educational Resources (OER)
OER resources are especially critical during this pandemic. Our students typically share books or borrow textbooks on reserve, but these options are not available right now. Librarians are available to work with faculty members to locate open access resources and existing library-licensed material to support course instruction. We encourage you to use library resources or open access materials for distance learning courses since students will not have access to physical reserve textbooks.
You may also request electronic versions of course texts using the textbook request form, although many textbook publishers do not offer ebook versions for sale to libraries.
The advantage of OER is that students can access these resources online for free. CUNY Library Services has more information on OER and Zero Cost Textbooks here: guides.cuny.edu/oer/repsandguides
Blackboard Libguides Integration
Every course is equipped with our default library resources page (found under Course Tools as "York Libguides Automatic"). For detailed Blackboard help, please contact CTLET. For making sure library resources are active in your course, a PDF document of brief instructions for installations can be found at the link below:
Fair Use and Copyright
Copyright experts have put together this guidance, Public Statement of Library Copyright Specialists: Fair Use & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research, on fair use during the pandemic.
Please contact your library liaison with any questions about library resources.
Affordable Wifi Program
Charter Spectrum Broadband Charter Communications is now offering new broadband service for just $29.99 per month, and includes a modem, in-home WiFi and self-installation at no additional charge. Spectrum Internet 100 is available exclusively to households eligible for the Federal Communications Commission’s Affordable Connectivity Program (ACP), and all Spectrum Internet and legacy plans — including Spectrum Internet Gig — are eligible for ACP credits.
York College Library is open for visitors Mon-Sat 9AM-5PM, but we also maintain an outdoor book drop for your convenience.
If you would like to return York books or any CUNY library books, you may use our book drop located outside the entrance to the loading dock on 160th Street.
Please do not leave oversized items that do not fit into the book drop. You should bring those directly to the library when we are open.
If you are located outside the Jamaica area or unable to travel to campus, please keep any materials you have checked out for now. You may also use the most convenient CUNY campus library to drop off or retrieve items.
York Coronavirus Updates
CUNY Coronavirus Updates
CUNY's Corona Virus (COVID-19) page is available at https://www.cuny.edu/coronavirus/ and updated regularly.
CUNY's social media accounts also provide up to date info:
CUNY Continuity of Library Services
Learn more about the actions CUNY Libraries are taking to support students during the COVID-19 pandemic here: https://www.cuny.edu/libraries/continuity-of-library-services/