Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Help from Home: Library Resources

Tools for accessing library services and materials from off campus

Grab and Go Book Pickup

The Library is open for book pick up and drop off only for the Fall 2021 semester.

Books can be requested through OneSearch using the Request Item option. (See our Onesearch how-to guide for more info on using Onesearch.) Once you've placed a request, you will receive confirmation when the item is ready for you to pick up. You can schedule your book pickup appointment here: https://york-cuny.libcal.com/appointments/book

Accessing Library Resources Remotely

Off-Campus Database Access
To access databases from off-campus, you must be a currently enrolled student, faculty member, or staff member with an active CUNY login. When signing into OneSearch or using any York Library databases, you will prompted to enter your CUNY login information. This is the simplest way to connect to library resources, and it's what we recommend.

CUNY Login troubleshooting

  • If you have trouble with your CUNY login, please see the CUNY Login FAQs or contact the York IT help desk via phone (718-262-5311), email (helpdesk@york.cuny.edu), or the Yconnect portal.

VPN troubleshooting

In the past, you may have used the York VPN, but this is no longer recommended for database access. If you are struggling to connect to databases, please make sure you are not logged in to the VPN.

  • If you are using the VPN for other reasons and have issues, contact the IT help desk via phone (718-262-5311), email (helpdesk@york.cuny.edu), or the Yconnect portal.

If you are having any trouble accessing resources remotely, please chat with us for immediate help, visit our FAQs, or email reference@york.cuny.edu.

Research Help

Personal Research Consultations

York librarians are available for in-depth assistance with your research assignments. Learn how to: 

  • Focus your research topic
  • Plan your research strategy
  • Identify relevant sources of information
  • Find and evaluate sources efficiently

Use the form to schedule an online research consultation with a Library Faculty member: york.cuny.edu/library/research-consultation

Chat Reference

If you have any questions, try our online chat service during business hours. If we're offline, you can always use our email reference form or send your question to reference@york.cuny.edu.

Frequently Asked Questions

If it's after hours, you can search our FAQ page to see if your question has an answer already. If not, use the question form to ask us and we will get back to you by the next business day.

Ebooks & Textbooks

York Library Ebooks

In addition to many full text ebooks that can be found in OneSearch, York Library also has many new titles available in Ebook Central, EBSCO, and Wiley Online Library. Use your CUNY login or the VPN to access these ebooks remotely.

You can also use the search box directly below:

Free ebooks and online textbooks

  • The University Press community is opening a wide variety of resources, books, and journals to support student learning and scholarly research in this difficult time. More than 80 publishers have contributed information about those open or free access materials here. The Association of University Presses has created a document that lists the presses and where they have made their ebooks available during this time. To browse the list of free resources, visit https://covid19.up.hcommons.org/open-up/

Articles & Databases

Library Databases

You can go directly to any of the library databases on the Databases and More page, where all library databases are listed alphabetically. If you're not sure the name of the database you should use, you can browse our Databases by Subject guide to identify a good database for your research topic.

Using OneSearch to Find Articles (and more)

You can use OneSearch to search all of York Library's databases at once, but there are other tools in OneSearch that can also help you manage your research. Use OneSearch to:

  • Begin your research.
  • Look for a combination of books, journal articles, and/or e-books, on a specific topic.
  • Find a specific title of an article or a book, or a specific author.
  • Match a citation to an article.
  • Manage your library account.

The library has a detailed guide on using this search tool here: OneSearch: Where to Begin

If you already have some keywords in mind, you can type them in the search bar below to find full text articles:

 

 

We have brief video tutorials on using OneSearch Basic Search and using the OneSearch Advanced Search options.

OneSearch also has tools to help you organize your research and get citations. You can also find a brief video tutorial on using the citation tools in OneSearch.

Streaming Video Services

York Library has several options for streaming video services, and you can find videos on most subjects, including some popular entertainment, through these library databases:
 

Alexander Street Academic Video Collection

  • Full access to over 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Digital Theatre+

JoVE Science Education

  • JoVE Science Education content includes Biology, Chemistry, and Social Psychology.

Kanopy

  • Selected films available.

Student Services

All student services will be offered virtually for Fall 2020 and Spring 2021. If you have general questions, please contact the Office of Enrollment Management and Student Affairs at 718-262-2331 or email studentdevelopment@york.cuny.edu.

Collaborative Learning Center

The Collaborative Learning Center is offering online tutoring in Blackboard Collab Ultra. You can schedule an appointment with the CLC if you need one-on-one tutoring help.

Food Pantry

The food pantry will be available by appointment by emailing foodpantry@york.cuny.edu. York also encourages students to seek pantries that are close to home and require minimal travel. Click here for a list of CUNY pantry locations and contact information. Before visiting, contact any pantry in advance to ensure that it is open. You may also try the following three sites to find pantries near your home address:

As the ongoing developments around COVID-19 are changing rapidly, please be sure to call the pantry first to confirm hours before you visit.

Child Care

The child care center is offering limited child care options. Use the Apply for Childcare form on the child care center webite, or email yccfc@york.cuny.edu to confirm availability.

Counseling Services

The counseling center is open virtually. The counseling services at York College are free for eligible students. To schedule an appointment, call the main number at 718-262-2272 or 718-262-2297, or email bpar@york.cuny.edu. If you are interested in the Better Together program, a support group for students who have been affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, you can sign up by emailing ewoods1@york.cuny.edu or ssmith16@york.cuny.edu.

Technology

 If you need assistance in securing technology, please contact the Office of Information Technology as soon as possible. If you have need a device or have one to return, please use the forms on the Device Distribution page. For other issues, you can contact IT via phone (718-262-5311), email (helpdesk@york.cuny.edu), or the YConnect Self-service portal.

Free Research Resources

Temporary Free Resources

Annual Reviews has opened up several freely accessible collections, including:

  • Coronavirus Information Hub: The global outbreak continues partly because neither the disease nor its transmission is fully understood yet. Scientists are working at an extraordinary pace to understand the biology of the virus while developing therapeutics and vaccines. In support of this critical research, Annual Reviews is curating relevant articles to assist the scientific community.
  • Racial Justice Research: AR journals contain highly respected sources of reviews on discriminatory policing of minorities, on bias in the criminal justice system, on inequalities in healthcare, and on other relevant issues. This collection of articles focus on understanding discrimination and its impact, and what must be done to end it. These articles are freely available to download.

Free content related to COVID-19 (temporarily open access to all)

See also York Library's research guide on COVID-19: libguides.york.cuny.edu/COVID-19

 

York Library Resources

Use the search box below to look for articles from York Library journals & databases:

Information for Faculty

As we all adapt to teaching primarily online, the Library continues to offer online services for students and faculty.

Library Resources

We would like to remind you that many of the Library’s books and journals are available electronically and are accessible off-campus.

All CUNY Libraries have suspended regular overdue fines, as well as overdue fines for recalled materials.  All CUNY Libraries now allow at least nine renewals of circulating items and will automatically renew items checked out to you.

Interlibrary loan services for print materials are temporarily suspended. Article requests are still welcomed.

Reference Questions

We now offer live chat reference. Chat reference hours are between 9am-9pm Monday-Thursday, 9am-6pm on Friday, and 9am-5pm on Saturday -- see Library Hours for holidays and other changes. You can submit a ticket outside of these hours, and we are also available via email.

Information Literacy

Library faculty can provide instruction online via Blackboard, Zoom, or your preferred platform. Please request a class through the form if you would like to explore that option for your students.

Textbooks and Open Educational Resources (OER)

OER resources are especially critical during this pandemic. Our students typically share books or borrow textbooks on reserve, but these options are not available right now. Librarians are available to work with faculty members to locate open access resources and existing library-licensed material to support course instruction. We encourage you to use library resources or open access materials for distance learning courses since students will not have access to physical reserve textbooks.

You may also request electronic versions of course texts using the textbook request form, although many textbook publishers do not offer ebook versions for sale to libraries.

The advantage of OER is that students can access these resources online for free. CUNY Library Services has more information on OER and Zero Cost Textbooks here: guides.cuny.edu/oer/repsandguides

Blackboard Libguides Integration

Every course is equipped with our default library resources page (found under Course Tools as "York Libguides Automatic"). For detailed Blackboard help, please contact CTLET. For making sure library resources are active in your course, a PDF document of brief instructions for installations can be found at the link below:

Fair Use and Copyright

Copyright experts have put together this guidance, Public Statement of Library Copyright Specialists: Fair Use & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research, on fair use during the pandemic. 

Please contact your library liaison with any questions about library resources.

Accessing the Internet / Wifi

Temporary Free Wifi​ Offers

Free Public Wifi (may be less secure)

Returning Library Books

Ylibrary return book drop located outside york collegeork College Library is only open for pick-up and drop-off until further notice, but we will continue to provide resources, services, and consulting online. We are here to support you.

If you would like to return York Library or any CUNY library books, book drop off hours are Mon-Sat 9AM-5PM.

Library materials may be returned at the book drop outside the entrance to the loading dock on 160th Street.

Please do not leave oversized items that do not fit into the book drop. You may bring those directly to the library.

If you are located outside the Jamaica area or unable to travel to campus, please keep any materials you have checked out for now. Returning materials by mail is not recommended at this time. You may also use the most convenient CUNY campus library to drop off or retrieve items.

CUNY Coronavirus Updates

York Coronavirus Updates

Throughout the semester, York will be regularly maintaining the Coronavirus Updates page -- please be sure to check this page often as it provides resources for students & faculty.

The library also has a guide on COVID-19.

CUNY Coronavirus Updates            

CUNY's Corona Virus (COVID-19) page is available at https://www.cuny.edu/coronavirus/ and updated regularly.

CUNY's social media accounts also provide up to date info:

CUNY Continuity of Library Services

Learn more about the actions CUNY Libraries are taking to support students during the COVID-19 pandemic here: https://www.cuny.edu/libraries/continuity-of-library-services/