This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, containing evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and top journals about nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy, and are internationally recognised as the highest standard in evidence-based health care. They may either investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation, or alternatively may assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting. A unique feature of Cochrane Reviews is that they are living documents in that they are updated with new evidence that emerges
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
This full-text database offers a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.
Essential resource providing access to authoritative content and multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
Provides full text access to journals primarily in the areas of science, technology, social science, and medicine. Full text is available for over 700 titles from 1997 to date. Abstracts from 1995 to date.
EpiQuery is a contraction of the words epidemiology, which is the study of the distribution and determinants of health-related states or events in specified populations, and the application of this study to the control of health problems, and query, which is a request for information from a database.
A bibliographic database that indexes articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Index also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).
Google Scholar is a great way to find academic articles, but many of the links lead to paywalls. To get around that, you tell Scholar to remember your York Library affiliation so you will always see “Find fulltext at York” options when available. From scholar.google.com, go to Settings and click on Library Links. Check all boxes for York College CUNY and click Save. If you’re logged into your Google account, it will remember that setting from now on. You can find more info here: https://libguides.york.cuny.edu/scholar