Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology: Research Help

Welcome! This guide will help you find resources related to anthropology. Browse through the links to find articles, books, databases, and websites related to anthropology.

Research Help

Need more help? Ask a librarian for research assistance!

Email

Get online research help—email us at reference@york.cuny.edu

We try to respond within 24 hours (Mon-Fri) and as soon as possible after weekends and holidays.

Call

718.262.2034

Check the Library Hours schedule.

Visit the Reference Desk

A professional librarian can help answer your questions at the York College Library reference desk right by the entrance in the Academic Core building, 3G. 

Check the Library Hours schedule.

Contact a Library Liaison or Subject Specialist

If you have questions that require subject expertise, you may want to contact our Library Liaisons directly.

York OneSearch

What am I searching?

York OneSearch lets you search in one place for books, articles, DVDs, CDs, and more.

York OneSearch combines in one searchable place these three things: the CUNY library catalog; a massive index of articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers; and unique digital content from the library.

 

Is OneSearch right for me?

OneSearch is a great tool for searching multiple library resources from one interface.

Use OneSearch if you:

  • are looking for a specific title, whether an article or a book,
  • want a combination of books, articles, ebooks, etc. on a topic, or
  • are just starting your research.

However, if you want specialized information sources on anthropology or another subject, explore the rest of this guide or any of our other research guides to find relevant databases and journals.

Reference Librarian

Meredith Powers's picture
Meredith Powers
Contact:
York College Library
94-20 Guy R. Brewer Blvd
Jamaica, NY 11451
718-262-2018

Google Scholar

Using Google Scholar

Did you know that you can link Google Scholar to the York Library's databases? Google Scholar is free and indexes content from many academic publishers, but many of the links it provides are not free. Since the York Library has subscriptions to some of the materials included in Google Scholar's search results, we have set up links connecting it to our reference databases.
 
If you are using a computer anywhere on the York campus, Google Scholar will recognize the IP address and you will see links to the right of some of the citations that say Find fulltext at York.
 
If you are using a computer off-campus, be sure to connect to Google Scholar using the link from the Library's databases and more page—this automatically lets Google know that you are from York College and lets you see the Find fulltext at York links. You can always adjust your library links in "Scholar Settings" to add York or any other library, but it's easier to just use the direct link: https://york.ezproxy.cuny.edu/login?url=http://scholar.google.com/