Skip to main content

Anthropology: Home

Welcome! This guide will help you find resources related to anthropology. Browse through the links to find articles, books, databases, and websites related to anthropology.

About Anthropology

Anthropology Department

The Department of History, Philosophy, and Anthropology has information on programs and courses in anthropology.

Visit the American Anthropological Association (AAA) for information on anthropology as a profession.

Top Picks for Anthropology

Need resources in anthropology? Start here:

AAA Style Guide

As of September 2015, AAA style (for all publications) follows the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, particularly in regard to reference citations. Check out this research guide for more information on citations.

Find eBooks

York Library has many books and ebooks on a variety of topics, including literature, arts & humanities, social science, religion, history, and multicultural studies.

Search for books & ebooks below:

Interlibrary Loan

What if we don't have it?

York students have access to all of CUNY. We have a campus lending service (CLICS) that lets you request books from other CUNY libraries directly from OneSearch.

 

What if no CUNY library has what I need?

If we don't have what you need in any CUNY library, you can request it through interlibrary loan.

Find Articles

Journals in Anthropology

The following journals are a good place to start your research:

Anthropology Databases

Search for articles in anthropology using one of the following databases:

Diversity Studies Collection: Contains over 6 million articles on cultural heritage and cultural studies.

JSTOR: Back issues of core scholarly journals in many subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, history, literature, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal (some as early as the 1600s) and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. Not a source for recent articles.

MLA International Bibliography: Citations and selected fulltext from journals, books, dissertations, and scholarly websites from the 1920s-present. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition from all over the world—Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America.

Social Explorer: Contains 220 years of demographic data, 25,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements and 335,000 variables. Use this resource to create and share maps, reports, and presentations. Compare, analyze, and download data in multiple formats. 

CIA World Factbook: Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues, and includes physical and political maps of major world regions, oceans, and standard time zones.

Smithsonian Collections Search Center: Provides easy "one-stop searching" of more than 5.4 million of the Smithsonian's museum, archives, library and research holdings and collections from across the institution. Selected fields from anthropology’s ethnographic, archaeological, and archival databases are included, and the CSC provides links to specific online databases, including the Department of Anthropology Collections.

 

You can also type in your topic keywords in the searchbox below to look for articles in all of the databases at once:

Open Access Anthropology

Open Anthropology

Open Anthropology is the digital public journal of the AAA, which aims to bring anthropology into the public conversation about critical social issues and policy debates. Content in Open Anthropology is culled from the full archive of participating AAA publications, and curated into editions which focus on a timely theme. Each new issue is made available online for free for a minimum of six months—permitting any user to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full text of the articles in each edition. Content published 35 years ago or more will remain free online in perpetuity; book reviews will also remain available online for free.

tDAR

tDAR is an international digital archive and repository that houses data about archaeological investigations, research, resources, and scholarship. Users can search tDAR for digital documents, data sets, images, GIS files, and other data resources from archaeological projects spanning the globe. tDAR's guides provide details on how to use the archive.