LibGuides: Media Stances and Media Bias: Home

Media Bias: One Chart Gets All!

This Media Bias Chart comes from AllSlides.

For additional resources about media bias, try consulting some of the sites below:

Left, Right, or Neutral? Useful Resources

Media Bias/Fact Check
"Don’t be fooled by Fake News sources ......"
Type of Media Bias and How to Spot Them
"Journalism is tied to a set of ethical standards and values, including truth and accuracy, fairness and impartiality, and accountability. However, journalism today often strays from objective fact; the result is biased news ......"
How to Rate Media Bias
"Bias is normal. If you've got a pulse, you've got a bias. But hidden bias misleads and divides us ......"
Discover Your Own Bias
"Bias starts with you. Learn about your own bias and how it compares with others......"
Blue Feed or Red Feed? See Liberal Facebook and Conservative Facebook, Side by Side
Left vs. Right (US)
"This graphic shows left & right, liberal vs conservative, blue vs red, from a US perspective ...... "
Pew Research Center: Political Polarization
"Political polarization – the vast and growing gap between liberals and conservatives, Republicans and Democrats – is a defining feature of American politics today, and one the Pew Research Center has documented for many years ......"
Media Bias in Strategic Word Choice
"Word choice is a key tool reporters use to subtly convey bias. Media consumers must be aware of this in order to protect themselves from bias quietly injected in the news ......"

Media Bias: Books in the Library

Bias : A CBS Insider Exposes How the Media Distort the News by Bernard Goldberg
Call Number: Stacks - PN4784.O24 G65 2003
ISBN: 9780060520847
Publication Date: 2003-01-21
In his nearly thirty years at CBS News, Emmy Award winner Bernard Goldberg earned a reputation as one of the preeminent reporters in the television news business. When he looked at his own industry, however, he saw that the media far too often ignored their primary mission: to provide objective, disinterested reporting. Again and again he saw that the news slanted to the left. For years, Goldberg appealed to reporters, producers, and network executives for more balanced reporting, but no one listened. The liberal bias continued. Now, breaking ranks and naming names, he reveals a corporate news culture in which the closed-mindedness is breathtaking and in which entertainment wins over hard news every time.
Evaluating Media Bias by Adam J. Schiffer
Call Number: Stacks - PN4888.O25 S35 2018
ISBN: 9781442265660
Publication Date: 2017-07-13
Media bias has been a hot-button issue for several decades and it features prominently in the post-2016 political conversation. Yet, it receives only spotty treatment in existing materials aimed at political communication or introductory American politics courses. Evaluating Media Bias is a brief, supplemental resource that provides an academically informed but broadly accessible overview of the major concepts and controversies involving media bias.
Fake News and Media Bias by Lucian Vance
Call Number: Stacks - PN4888.O25 V36 2018
ISBN: 9781534562912
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
Although news outlets are meant to be impartial, they have never been perfectly unbiased. Another layer was added to the ongoing debate over the role of news media after the 2016 U.S. presidential election, when allegations of fake news surfaced. How can people know which news sources to trust? This volume explores the fake news phenomenon and offers readers tips on how to be critical of what they see reported. Full-color photographs, engaging sidebars, and discussion questions enhance the compelling text as it explores this crucial aspect of a democratic society.
Media Bias, Perspective, and State Repression by Christian Davenport
Call Number: Stacks - E185.615 .D384 2010
ISBN: 9780521759700
Publication Date: 2009-11-23
This book examines information reported within the media regarding the interaction between the Black Panther Party and government agents in the Bay Area of California (1967-1973). Christian Davenport argues that the geographic locale and political orientation of the newspaper influences how specific details are reported, including who starts and ends the conflict, who the Black Panthers target (government or non-government actors), and which part of the government responds (the police or court). Specifically, proximate and government-oriented sources provide one assessment of events, whereas proximate and dissident-oriented sources have another; both converge on specific aspects of the conflict. The methodological implications of the study are clear; Davenport's findings prove that in order to understand contentious events, it is crucial to understand who collects or distributes the information in order to comprehend who reportedly does what to whom as well as why.
Media Bias : Finding it, Fixing it by Jenn Burleson MacKay (Editor); Wm. David Sloan
Call Number: Stacks - PN4888.O25 M45 2007
ISBN: 9780786430420
Publication Date: 2007-01-03
In this book, scholars examine the many prevailing arguments about media bias from a non-polemical perspective. Essays cover individual forms of bias, including ideology, politics, television, photography, religion, abortion, homosexuality, gender, race, crime, environment, region, military, corporate ownership, labor and health. Each essay introduces the topic, presents arguments for and against the specific bias, assesses the evidence for all arguments, and includes a list of suggested readings. Two additional essays discuss the broader aspects of the bias debate and give a personal perspective on reporting the controversial Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
Media Bias in Presidential Election Coverage, 1948-2008 by David W. D'Alessio
Call Number: Stacks - JK524 .D36 2012
ISBN: 9780739164747
Publication Date: 2012-03-22
Accusations of partisan bias in Presidential election coverage are suspect at best and self-serving at worst. They are generally supported by the methodology of instance confirmation, tainted by the hostile media effect, and based on simplistic visions of how the news media are organized. Media Bias in Presidential Election Coverage 1948-2008 by Dave D'Alessio, is a revealing analysis that shows the news media have four essential natures: as journalistic entities, businesses, political actors, and property, all of which can act to create news coverage biases, in some cases in opposing directions. By meta-analyzing the results of 99 previous examinations of media coverage of Presidential elections from 1948 to 2008, D'Alessio reveals that coverage has no aggregate partisan bias either way, even though there are small biases in specific realms that are generally insubstantial.
One-Sided Arguments : A dialectical Analysis of Bias by Douglas Walton
ISBN: 9780791442678
Publication Date: 1999-08-12
A practical manual for evaluating bias that will be useful to anyone who has to deal with arguments, whether in academic reading or writing, or in everyday conversation.
Partisan Journalism : A History of Media Bias in the United States by Jim A. Kuypers; Larry Schweikart
Call Number: Stacks - PN4888.O25 K84 2014
ISBN: 9781442225930
Publication Date: 2013-11-21
In Partisan Journalism: A History of Media Bias in the United States Jim A. Kuypers guides readers on a journey through American journalistic history, focusing on the warring notions of objectivity and partisanship. Kuypers shows how the American journalistic tradition grew from partisan roots and, with only a brief period of objectivity in between, has returned to those roots today. The book begins with an overview of newspapers during Colonial times, explaining how those papers openly operated in an expressly partisan way; he then moves through the Jacksonian era's expansion of both the press and its partisan nature. After detailing the role of the press during the War Between the States, Kuypers demonstrates that it was the telegraph, not professional sentiment, that kicked off the movement toward objective news reporting.
The Partisan Press : a History of Media Bias in the United States by Si Sheppard
Call Number: Stacks - PN4888.O25 S54 2008
ISBN: 9780786432820
Publication Date: 2007-10-29
This book is the first to place the contemporary debate over media bias in historical context, illustrating how partisan bias in the American media has built political parties, set the stage for several wars, and even contributed to the rise and fall of U.S. presidents. The author discusses the rise of the unprecedented post-World War II model of objective journalism and explains why this model is breaking down under the challenge of a new generation of technology-driven partisan media alternatives.
The Politics of Persuasion : Economic Policy and Media Bias in the Modern Era by Anthony R. DiMaggio
Call Number: Stacks - HC106.84 .D56 2017
ISBN: 9781438463452
Publication Date: 2017-02-27
Examines how the US media covers high-profile public policy issues in the context of competing claims about media bias.
Post-Truth by Lee C. McIntyre
Call Number: Stacks - BD171 .M39 2018
ISBN: 9780262535045
Publication Date: 2018-02-16
In this volume in the MIT Press Essential Knowledge series, Lee McIntyre traces the development of the post-truth phenomenon from science denial through the rise of "fake news," from our psychological blind spots to the public's retreat into "information silos."
Press Bias and Politics : How the Media Frame Controversial Issues by Jim A. Kuypers
Call Number: Stacks - PN4888.O25 K89 2002
ISBN: 0275977595
Publication Date: 2002-09-30
Kuypers charts the potential effects the printed presses and broadcast media have upon the messages of political and social leaders when they discuss controversial issues. Examining over 800 press reports on race and homosexuality from 116 different newspapers, Kuypers meticulously documents a liberal political bias in mainstream news. This book asserts that such a bias hurts the democratic process by ignoring non-mainstream left positions and vilifying many moderate and most right-leaning positions, leaving only a narrow brand of liberal thought supported by the mainstream press. This book argues that the mainstream press in America is an anti-democratic institution. By comparatively analyzing press reports, as well as the events that occasioned the coverage, Kuypers paints a detailed picture of the politics of the American press. He advances four distinct reportorial practices that inject bias into reporting, offering perspectives of particular interest to scholars, students, and others involved with mass communication, journalism, and politics in the United States.
Reference Shelf: Alternative Facts, Post-Truth and the Information War by H. W. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks - PN4888 .F35 A48 2018
ISBN: 9781682178652
Publication Date: 2018-03-29
This volume will explore news consumption and media manipulation, including selective curation of news stories and the lack of a shared news narrative. It will examine the effect of internet subcultures that manipulate news feeds, set agendas, and push ideas forward. It will investigate internet media's dependence on trending analytics and metrics, sensationalism of headlines and advertising driven models of news publishing. The volume will also explore the negative effect of public consumption of false or misleading news.
Skewed : A Critical Thinker’s Guide to Media Bias by Larry Atkins
Call Number: Stacks - PN4888.O25 A875 2016
ISBN: 9781633881655
Publication Date: 2016-08-16
In a media landscape dominated by advocacy news networks pushing competing points of view, how can the average person uncover the truth about any particular issue? This book will show you how to separate the facts from the agenda-driven spin and selective presentation often used by such news sources as Fox and MSNBC. The author describes the goals of advocacy journalism-i.e., journalism that transparently advocates a biased worldview-and shows that it has been a part of our history since the 1700s. He assesses the role of talk radio, cable news networks, and the more recent phenomena of special-interest blogs, websites, and citizen journalists in creating the current media climate.
What Liberal Media? The Truth about Bias and the News by Andrei Cherny; Eric Alterman
Call Number: Stacks - PN4784 .O24 A44 2004
ISBN: 0465001777
Publication Date: 2004-03-03
Widely acclaimed and hotly contested, veteran journalist Eric Alterman's ambitious investigation into the true nature of the U.S. news media touched a nerve and sparked debate across the country. As the question of whose interests the media protects-and how-continues to raise hackles, Alterman's sharp, utterly convincing assessment cuts through the cloud of inflammatory rhetoric, settling the question of liberal bias in the news once and for all. Eye-opening, witty, and thoroughly and solidly researched, What Liberal Media? is required reading for media watchers, and anyone concerned about the potentially dangerous consequences for the future of democracy in America.
Women for President by Erika Falk
Call Number: Stacks - HQ1391.U5 F35 2010
ISBN: 9780252076916
Publication Date: 2010-01-12
Newly updated to examine Hillary Clinton's formidable 2008 presidential campaign, Women for President analyzes the gender bias the media has demonstrated in covering women candidates since the first woman ran for America's highest office in 1872. Tracing the campaigns of nine women who ran for president through 2008—Victoria Woodhull, Belva Lockwood, Margaret Chase Smith, Shirley Chisholm, Patricia Schroeder, Lenora Fulani, Elizabeth Dole, Carol Moseley Braun, and Hillary Clinton—Erika Falk finds little progress in the fair treatment of women candidates. The press portrays female candidates as unviable, unnatural, and incompetent, and often ignores or belittles women instead of reporting their ideas and intent. This thorough comparison of men's and women's campaigns reveals a worrisome trend of sexism in press coverage—a trend that still persists today.