LibGuides: Chemistry: Articles

Specialized Databases

American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Web editions of American Chemical Society journals. Over 30 full-text journals and ACS Archives back to 1879.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to journals primarily in the areas of science, technology, social science, and medicine. The collection held by York College is the Freedom Collection.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Library of Medicine's free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

SciFinder
SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. SciFinder Scholar is the electronic version of "Chemical Abstracts." Before using SciFinder Scholar Web Edition for the first time, you will need to register for an account.
ToxTutor
ToxTutor is a free, self-paced tutorial that provides a plain-language introduction to toxicology. ToxTutor was originally produced by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). NLM web links for ToxTutor and its predecessor, ToxLearn, will direct users to the new ToxMSDT site.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including full text for more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Index is a bibliographic database that indexes articles of at least one column in length. English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere are covered; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided. Periodical coverage includes trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies, and specialized subject periodicals.

General Science Collection
A bibliographic database that indexes articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. General Science Index also covers The New York Times Science Section (published weekly on Tuesday).
more...less...
Subjects covered: Astronomy, Atmospheric Science, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Conservation, Earth Science, Environment, Food, Genetics, Health, Mathematics, Medicine, Microbiology, Nutrition, Oceanography, Physics, Physiology, Zoology.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of over two hundred and fifty journals in business, arts and sciences, language and literature, economics, political science, history, demographics, literature, philosophy, and various other fields in the social sciences and humanities. Journal coverage begins with the first issue of each journal, in some cases going as far back as the 1800s
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines, formats, and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Google Scholar sorts articles weighing the fulltext of each article, author, publication in which article appears, and how often the piece has been cited in other scholarly literature.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Science In Context is an engaging online resource that provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.
Science Journals This link opens in a new window
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.
General Science Full Text 1984-present This link opens in a new window