Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anti-Racism & BlackLivesMatter Resources

This list is a starting point for resources which focus on anti-racism and Black liberation. This is a non-exhaustive list of syllabi, books available through York Library, and more that we will continue to update as our collections and research grow.

Syllabi

How to be an Antiracist, Ibrahm X. Kendi

  • This Guide was developed as part of a Spring 2020 Library discussion series on the book How To Be An Antiracist. This is a work in progress! The syllabus portion of the guide includes additional works by the author, as well as lists of related books, articles, and films for further learning. Access the syllabus and its chapter resources via the menu on the left side of the guide.

Intro to Critical Race Theory, Adrienne Keene

  • This graduate seminar will explore the foundations and central tenets of Critical Race Theory, from its origins in Critical Legal Studies, to current applications, debates, and evolutions, with particular attention to CRT’s intersections with the field of American Studies. We will also bring in CRT “offshoots” such as TribalCrit, LatCrit, AsianCrit, and DisCrit. CRT posits that racism is endemic to society, but that we must also remain committed to social justice and praxis. How do we navigate these tensions, use CRT to provide a toolkit for navigating scholarship, and work toward social change in the realms of race and racism?

Reparations Syllabus, adapted from “Reparations, Repatriation, and Redress” symposium, University of Minnesota

  • This syllabus is not meant to provide an exhaustive list of sources on reparations–this is an evolving document and we welcome suggestions for additional sources to add. Reparations demands can be material, as in demands for land or money, symbolic, as in public apologies, or cultural, as in the replacement of public monuments tied to violence or injustice. Recognizing the diverse ways in which individuals and groups reckon with the aftermath of collective trauma, this syllabus is meant to provide an introduction to some of the major debates and texts in the field.

Reading Lists

Anti-Racism: A Starter Booklist from Library Journal

Anti-Racism Resources list compiled by Sarah Sophie Flicker, Alyssa Klein

Anti-Racism Resources for All Ages a project by the Augusta Baker Chair

Black Liberation Reading List from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

Black Lives Matter Reading List by Feminist Press

Eight Recommended Books by Women to Understand the Uprisings from Ms.

Haymarket Books Against Policing and Mass Incarceration

Let's Do the Work from Brooklyn Public Library

Reading for Racial Justice from Manifold (available free of charge for a short time)

Reading Towards Abolition: A Reading List on Policing, Rebellion, and the Criminalization of Blackness compiled by the Abusable Past Collective

Teaching an Uprising: Readings on Race and Democracy by Trish Kahle

Books

The following book titles are linked to York Library's WorldCat, which will allow you to find any of our books online or in print. You can also place ILL requests for any items. (Note: print books are currently unavailable from York or via ILL because of the temporary closure due to COVID-19. Services will resume when we reopen.)


Alexander, Michelle. The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness. New Press, 2010.

Anderson, Carol. White Rage: The Unspoken Truth of Our Racial Divide. Bloomsbury, 2017.

Baldwin, James. The Fire Next Time. Modern Library, 1995.

Coates, Ta-Nehisi. Between the World and Me. Spiegel & Grau, 2017.

Cooper, Brittney C. Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower. St. Martin’s Press, 2019.

Davis, Angela Y. Are Prisons Obsolete? Seven Stories Press, 2003.

Davis, Angela Y., and Frank Barat. Freedom Is a Constant Struggle: Ferguson, Palestine, and the Foundations of a Movement. Haymarket Books, 2016.

DiAngelo, Robin J. White Fragility: Why It’s so Hard for White People to Talk about Racism. Beacon Press, 2018.

Du Bois, W. E. B. The Souls of Black Folk; Essays and Sketches. A. C. McClurg & Co., 1920.

Eddo-Lodge, Reni. Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People about Race. Bloomsbury Publishing, 2019.

Fanon, Frantz. The Wretched of the Earth. Grove Press, 2004.

Forman, James. Locking up Our Own: Crime and Punishment in Black America. Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2017.

Harris-Perry, Melissa V. Sister citizen: shame, stereotypes, and Black women in America. Yale University Press, 2011.

hooks, bell. Killing Rage: Ending Racism. Henry Holt and Company, 2006.

Kendi, Ibram X. How to Be an Antiracist. One World, 2019.

Kendi, Ibram X. Stamped from the beginning : the definitive history of racist ideas in America. Nation Books, 2016. (A free audiobook is currently available on Spotify.)

Khan-Cullors, Patrisse. When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir. St. Martin’s Press, 2018.

Laymon, Kiese. Heavy: An American Memoir. Scribner, 2018.

Lorde, Audre. Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches. Crossing Press, 2007.

Lowery, Wesley. They Can’t Kill Us All: The Story of the Struggle for Black Lives. Back Bay Books, 2016.

McClure, Stephanie M. & Harris, Cherise A. Getting real about race: hoodies, mascots, model minorities, and other conversations. SAGE, 2015.

Muhammad, Khalil Gibran. The Condemnation of Blackness Race, Crime, and the Making of Modern Urban America. Harvard University Press, 2019.

Oluo, Ijeoma. So You Want to Talk about Race. Seal Press, 2019.

Rankine, Claudia. Citizen: An American Lyric. Graywolf Press, 2014.

Ritchie, Andrea J. Invisible No More: Police Violence against Black Women and Women of Color. Beacon Press, 2017.

Ross, Lawrence C. Blackballed: The Black and White Politics of Race on America’s Campuses. Griffin, 2017.

Rothstein, Richard. The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America. Liveright Publishing Corporation, 2017.

Saad, Layla F. Me and White Supremacy: Combat Racism, Change the World, and Become a Good Ancestor. Sourcebooks, 2020.

Stevenson, Bryan. Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption. One World, 2020. (Also available as an adaptation for young adults.)

Taylor, Keeanga-Yamahtta. From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation. Haymarket Books, 2016.

Taylor, Keeanga-Yamahtta, editor. How We Get Free: Black Feminism and the Combahee River Collective. Haymarket Books, 2017.

Thompson, Heather Ann. Blood in the Water: The Attica Prison Uprising of 1971 and Its Legacy. Vintage Books, 2017.

Vitale, Alex S. The End of Policing. Verso, 2017. (currently available as a free ebook download from Verso)

Walker, Anders. The Burning House: Jim Crow and the Making of Modern America. Yale University Press, 2018.

Ward, Jesmyn, ed. The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks about Race. Scribner, 2017.

Wilkerson, Isabel. The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America’s Great Migration. Vintage Books, 2011.


You can also search for any book title in the search box below to find York Library books & ebooks:

Research Collections

Many publishers are offering free open access to research collections in order to amplify Black critical scholarship and to support researchers in their future work, educators in discussions on systemic racism, and policymakers and community organizers in their efforts to create an equal society.


Educating for Black Lives: Readings and Resources for Antiracist Education, a new collection of 55 readings and 20 multimedia resources including videos, lesson plans, workshop activities, thought pieces, and more from Routledge

Racial Equity Tools from the Center for Assessment and Policy Development

Racial Justice, Policing, and Protest  from Annual Reviews

Reading for Racial Justice from Manifold (available free of charge for a short time)

Structural Racism and Police Violence from SAGE journals

Library Study Guides

Anti-Racism Resources by Libby Conyner at Carol Grotnes Belk Library. This guide provides some resources related to the histories of racism, its continuing legacies, and how we can work to dismantle white supremacy.


Anti-Racist Pedagogy Guide, a joint effort of the University of Southern California Libraries and the Anti-Racist Pedagogy Organizing Committee, USC. This guide provides resources for developing anti-racist pedagogical strategies and syllabi.


Disrupting Whiteness in Libraries and Librarianship: A Reading List by Karla J. Strand, University of Wisconsin. This bibliography contains citations and links to resources focused on race, racism, and disrupting whiteness and white supremacy in libraries. Particular emphasis is placed on the field of library and information science and librarianship as a profession.


Twitter thread of library libguides on antiracism under the hashtags #Antiracism #libguides

Streaming Video

York Library Videos

The following videos are available to stream via York Library, and will require you to sign in using your CUNY login or the York VPN:

I Am Not Your Negro: James Baldwin and Race in America

In 1979, James Baldwin wrote a letter to his literary agent describing his next project, Remember This House. The book was to be a revolutionary, personal account of the lives and successive assassinations of three of his close friends--Medgar Evers, Malcolm X and Martin Luther King, Jr. At the time of Baldwin's death in 1987, he left behind only thirty completed pages of his manuscript. Filmmaker Raoul Peck envisions the book James Baldwin never finished in a radical, up-to-the-minute examination of race in America, using Baldwin's original words and flood of rich archival material. I AM NOT YOUR NEGRO is a journey into black history that connects the past of the Civil Rights movement to the present of #BlackLivesMatter. It is a film that questions black representation in Hollywood and beyond. And, ultimately, by confronting the deeper connections between the lives and assassination of these three leaders, Baldwin and Peck have produced a work that challenges the very definition of what America stands for.

bell hooks: Cultural Criticism & Transformation

In this two-part video, bell hooks extensively illustrated with many of the images under analysis, she makes a compelling argument for the transformative power of cultural criticism. In Part One, bell hooks discusses the theoretical foundations and positions that inform her work (such as the motives behind representations, as well as their power in social and cultural life). bell hooks also explains why she insists on using the phrase "white supremacist capitalist patriarchy" to describe the interlocking systems of domination that define our reality. In Part Two, she demonstrates the value of cultural studies in concrete analysis through such subjects as the OJ Simpson case, Madonna, Spike Lee, and Gangsta rap. The aim of cultural analysis, she argues, should be the production of enlightened witnesses - audiences who engaged with the representations of cultural life knowledgeably and vigilantly.


Temporary Free Videos

Various film distributors are temporarily providing free access to the following films and documentaries highlighting racial injustice in America. In some cases, you may be required to create a free account to access the content.

Documentaries

Films

 

Beyond the Library

Guides & Toolkits

10 Steps to Non-Optical Allyship

Antiracist Allyship Starter Pack & How To Be a Better Ally by Tatum Dorrell, Matt Herndon and Jourdan Dorrell

Black-owned Bookstores you can support

Black-owned Brooklyn businesses

From Beirut To Minneapolis: A Protest Guide in Solidarity

#HireBlackPhotographers: a list of 700+ photographers covering the protests

NEA Racial Justice Resources hub for educators

Scaffolded Anti-Racist Resources

The Blackivists’ Five Tips for Organizers, Protestors, and Anyone Documenting Movements

Ways You Can Help from Black Lives Matter

We here


Podcasts

1619  from New York Times

About Race with Reni Eddo-Lodge

Black History Buff

Code Switch from NPR

Good Ancestor by Layla F. Saad

Identity Politics by Ikhlas Saleem

Pod Save the People by DeRay Mckesson

The Racist Sandwich by Soleil Ho and Zahir Janmohamed

Seeing White by John Biewen and Chenjerai Kumanyika

The Stoop by Leila Day and Hana Baba

Yo, Is This Racist? by Andrew Ti and Tawny Newsome