Skip to main content

Political Science: Home

Suggested sources for Political Science research.

Suggested sources for Political Science research.

E-Journals

You can use the Library’s e-journal portal to find individual e-journals, both subscription ones (in library databases) and free, open-access ones. One can browse the e-journal portal by subject or search for the titles of specific journals to find out if they are available full-text.

Books

To find individual books and e-books on your topic, use OneSearch.  To find books about relations between Cuba and the United States, try selecting “Subject contains” and then type cuba AND "united states" AND "foreign relations" into the search box.

To find primary sources, i.e., something that was written at the time that you are studying, try adding any of the following terms to your “Subject contains” search:

sources
narratives
diaries
interviews
correspondence
documents
papers
journals
autobiography
speeches
letters

For example:
"united states" AND "foreign relations" AND sources

Hint: If you are looking for books written by a politician, such as a memoir or their thoughts on foreign affairs, try selecting “Author/Creator contains” and then type the name of the politician, such as:

ronald reagan

However, if you are looking for the official papers of a politician while they were in office, you would select “Author/Creator contains” and then type the name of the office. For example:

"united states" AND president

 

Newspapers

Databases

OneSearch

OneSearch
Advanced Search

Remote Access by IP address/library barcode

If you are accessing any of the subscription links above from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your the 14-digit Library barcode number from the back of your York ID card. You can also access the databases through the York VPN - if you have already downloaded the VPN software (Pulse Secure) onto your device, just launch the program on your device. You do not have to download it again if you recently downloaded it:

(Call the I.T. Help Desk, 718-262-5311, for problems/questions about VPN).

E-Book Collections

Individual e-books are cataloged and are accessible by searching OneSearch. However, the Library also has several e-book collections, where one can also search the contents of e-books.

Public library research

If you have a library card for your local public library, you can also access some of their databases from home:

Queens Public Library

New York Public Library

Brooklyn Public Library

Subject Librarian

John Drobnicki's picture
John Drobnicki
Contact:
York College Library
94-20 Guy R. Brewer Blvd
Jamaica, NY 11451
718-262-2025
Website