Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Home

Suggested sources for History research.

Suggested sources for History research.

Many of the electronic resources that the York College Library subscribes to are multi-disciplinary and will provide articles in many subject areas. However, users may find the following helpful when performing research for History classes.

E-Journals

You can use York’s e-journal portal or Browzine to find individual e-journals, both subscription ones (in library databases) and free, open-access ones. One can browse the e-journal portal by subject or search for the titles of specific journals to find out if they are available full-text.

Books

To find individual books and e-books on your topic, use OneSearch.  To find books about the history of New York, try selecting “Subject contains” and then type "new york" AND history into the search box.

To find primary sources, i.e., something that was written at the time that you are studying, try adding any of the following terms to your “Keyword in subject” search:

sources
narratives
diaries
interviews
correspondence
documents
papers
journals
autobiography
speeches
letters

For example:
"civil war" AND sources
russia AND narratives

E-Book Collections

Individual e-books are cataloged and are accessible by searching OneSearch. However, the Library also has several e-book collections, where one can also search the contents of e-books.

Databases

OneSearch

OneSearch
Advanced Search

Remote Access by IP address/CUNY Login

If you are accessing any of the subscription links above from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your CUNY Login - the same credentials you use for Blackboard and/or CUNYfirst. You can also access the databases through the York VPN - if you have already downloaded the VPN software (GlobalProtect) onto your device, just launch the program on your device. You do not have to download it again if you recently downloaded it:

(Call the I.T. Help Desk, 718-262-5311, for problems/questions about VPN).

Newspapers

Public library research

If you have a library card for your local public library, you can also access some of their databases from home:

Queens Public Library

New York Public Library

Brooklyn Public Library

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
John Drobnicki
Contact:
York College Library
94-20 Guy R. Brewer Blvd
Jamaica, NY 11451
718-262-2025
Website