Skip to main content

Black Studies and Cultural Diversity: Home

Suggested sources for Black Studies and Cultural Diversity research.

Suggested sources for Black Studies and Cultural Diversity research.

Many of the databases that York College subscribes to are multi-disciplinary and will provide articles in many subject areas. However, users may find the following helpful when performing research for Black Studies or Cultural Diversity classes.

E-Journals

You can use York’s e-journal portal to find individual e-journals, both subscription ones (in library databases) and free, open-access ones. One can browse the e-journal portal by subject or search for the titles of specific journals to find out if they are available full-text.

Books

To find individual books and e-books on your topic, use OneSearch. To find books about minority groups in New York, try selecting “Subject contains” and then type "new york" AND minorities into the search box. You can also type in the names of specific ethnic groups, such as African Americans or Haitian Americans.

Other keywords that may be helpful in locating books relating to Black Studies or Cultural Diversity are:

multiculturalism
cultural pluralism
ethnology
ethnic relations
race relations
immigrants
cultural assimilation
americanization
emigration

For example:

african american men
emigration AND "united states"
mexican american women

E-Book Collections

Individual e-books are cataloged and are accessible by searching OneSearch. However, the Library also has several e-book collections, where one can also search the contents of e-books.

Databases

OneSearch

OneSearch
Advanced Search

Remote Access by IP address/library barcode

If you are accessing any of the subscription links above from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your the 14-digit Library barcode number from the back of your York ID card. You can also access the databases through the York VPN - if you have already downloaded the VPN software (Pulse Secure) onto your device, just launch the program on your device. You do not have to download it again if you recently downloaded it:

(Call the I.T. Help Desk, 718-262-5311, for problems/questions about VPN).

Newspapers

Public library research

If you have a library card for your local public library, you can also access some of their databases from home:

Queens Public Library

New York Public Library

Brooklyn Public Library

Subject Librarian

John Drobnicki's picture
John Drobnicki
Contact:
York College Library
94-20 Guy R. Brewer Blvd
Jamaica, NY 11451
718-262-2025
Website