LibGuides: LGBTQ materials at York College Library: Research & Databases

Core Databases for LGBTQ Materials

"This database contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms."

Gender Studies

"Discover a comprehensive periodical collection supporting significant aspects of gender in culture and society."

GenderWatch

"This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports."

Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ+(1923-2017)

Free Online LGBTQ Resources

Library of Congress LGBTQ Resources
The Free Library of Philadelphia LGBTQ
LGBTQ + Studies Web Archive
"The LGBTQ+ Studies Web Archive collects and preserves online content which documents LGBTQ+ history, scholarship, and culture in the United States and around the world. Sites include domestic and international non-profit organizations, journalism and news , creative works and expressions, historical records, and more. Collection priorities include primary sources, first-hand accounts, coverage of significant events, and essential artifacts of cultural memory. This collection seeks to illuminate LBGTQ+ voices, from margin to center. The sites curated here preserve subjects and perspectives which have been historically underrepresented in Library holdings, are ephemeral in nature, and those which have proven difficult to collect via traditional or print resources."
LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates Web Archive
"The LGBTQ+ Politics and Political Candidates Web Archive captures digital content related to LBGTQ+ political candidates and political issues and topics at various levels of government, with a focus on lesser-known local and state politics. This archive preserves a representative sample of what is being called "The Rainbow Wave," which refers to the previously unprecedented number of LGBTQ+ identified candidates openly running for office. These websites provide a record of individuals attempting historic firsts in American politics. In many cases, these individuals are or are attempting to become the first LGBTQ+ identified candidate to run for or hold the office being sought. In addition, as LGBTQ+ political issues are evolving rapidly, a representative sample of LGBTQ+ political and legal organizations, media, and rhetoric are likewise included here."

Other Subject Databases

Abstracts of Social Gerontology This link opens in a new window
This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Primary sources covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Also includes interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and ephemera.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers all areas of business, including marketing, accounting, finance, management, and economics. News articles, market research reports, industry and company profiles.
CINAHL Complete: Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, containing evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and top journals about nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to communications and mass media, formed by the merger of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index, plus additional material. Most citations have abstracts, and there is full text for over 200 journals.
Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
This database is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
FP: Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
This website reaches an international audience of millions and has become a trusted source of insight and analysis for leaders from government, business, finance, and the academic world.
Health Management (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Legal Source This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
This database is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed articles in social and behavioral sciences published by the APA.
PsycEXTRA This link opens in a new window
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology.
Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
This database provides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO.
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Index of the literature in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
This database covers topics of philosophies and religions in one comprehensive collection.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to journals primarily in the areas of science, technology, social science, and medicine. Full text is available for over 700 titles from 1997 to date. Abstracts from 1995 to date.
U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window
This database is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
A quality electronic collections brought together through the skills of traditional publishing, librarianship, and software development.

Associate Professor

Junli Diao

Email Me

Contact:

94 - 20 Guy R. Brewer Blvd., Jamaica, NY 11451

7182622302

LGBTQ materials at York College Library: Research & Databases

Core Databases for LGBTQ Materials

Free Online LGBTQ Resources

Other Subject Databases

Associate Professor

Multidisciplinary Databases