Skip to main content

Social Work: Home

This guide provides students and faculty with Social Work resources within the library’s collection. Resources in this guide are limited and should only be used as a guiding tool in completing your research project.

Using Journal Finder

Do you have a list of Journals that your professor has assigned to your class?  You can easily find out if such journal(s) exist in any of the library's database by following the following instructions

  1. Open the E-Resources by Title (also found under "Research" on the main library's web menu).
  2. Input the JOURNAL NAME in the search box.
  3. Each database listed will cover different dates.  Select the one that includes the time period requested by your professor.
  4.  Browse through the listed years and issues if you have the year, issue and/or volume or "search within the publication" by author and article name. 

Looking for an article you have the citation for? Refer to Read a Citation video demonstration.

Books and eBooks

Social work is an interdisciplinary field with broad areas to psychology, research methods, government policies, healthcare, and diversity studies.  The majority of social work print resources can be located between the Library of Congress (LC) "HV" call number in the library's stack collection. "HV" call number encompasses subject areas that are not limited to social services, welfare, criminology, social work with families, children and teenagers, women, elderly, and disabled group. Students can look through the library's online catalog for print books and eBooks.  By using a combination of keywords, you can search for relevant materials by "keyword in subject"  and "keyword begins with...". Below are some selected books by librarians from the library's collection.  Books listed can be found at the reference desk. This list is limited and students are encouraged to do their own searches independently

Relational Social Work Practice with Diverse Population by Judith B. Rosenberger (Editor)
Call Number: HV41 .R45 2014
ISBN: 9781461466802
Publication Date: 2014
 
Ethics in Professional Life: Virtues for health and social care by Sarah Banks & Ann Gallagher
Call Number: Ref. RT85 .B36 2009
ISBN: 9780230507197
Publication Date: 2009
 
Social Work in Health Care: Its Past and Future by Surjit Singh Dhooper
Call Number: HV687 .D48 2012
ISBN: 9781452206202
Publication Date: 2012
 
Available eBook resources include, but not limited to 

You can also search for eBooks' title and subject on the library's  online catalog and OneSearch Discovery Tool.  To see a list of eBooks collection, click HERE.

 

Primary Vs. Secondary Sources

Do you know the difference between primary and secondary sources? A primary source is the firsthand accounts of an event, witnessed or written by a person who was present at the time of the event.  Whereas a secondary source in a interpretation of the primary source.  Examples of primary source include historical and legal documents, eyewitness accounts, results of experiments, statistical data, autobiography, Interviews and speeches, and surveys. In the natural and social sciences, primary sources are often empirical studies—research where an experiment was performed or a direct observation was made. The results of empirical studies are typically found in scholarly articles or papers delivered at conferences. Examples of secondary sources are book reviews, popular magazines, newspapers, biographies, articles that discuss or evaluate another original research, and literary criticism.

Access off Campus

Access by IP address/library barcode:

- Click a yellow box to access a database while on campus (or by IP address).

- Click a green house to access a database remotely (off campus). You will be prompted to enter your Library ID barcode number. You can also access the databases after first logging into the York VPN. See Remote Access to Databases for troubleshooting off-campus access.

Remote access by VPN
For Remote Access, you can also log into York VPN:

After logging into VPN once, you can then access all of the reference databases from off-campus by clicking on their yellow links. (Call the I.T. Help Desk, x5311, for VPN account info).

You can also click the link below for a video demonstration

Use Library Resources off campus