LibGuides: Medicine: Home

Books

Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2015 Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2015 (CMDT 2015) is the 54th edition of this single-source reference for practitioners in both hospital and ambulatory settings. The book emphasizes the practical features of clinical diagnosis and patient management in all fields of internal medicine and in specialties of interest to primary care practitioners and to subspecialists who provide general care.
more...less...
Maxine A. Papadakis, MD, Stephen J. McPhee, MD, Michael W. Rabow, MD
Magill's Medical Guide, Seventh Edition Since 1995, Magill’s Medical Guide has been acclaimed by every major reference reviewer, and it has become a staple in high school, college, medical school, and public libraries. Designed for laymen and written for health care consumers, the Medical Guide is a perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides.
Sexually Transmitted Diseases A Practical Guide for Primary Care 2013 Sexually Transmitted Diseases: A Guide for Primary Care, second edition, covers the diagnosis and treatment of STDs and other information critical to patient care and reflects the last five years of significant changes in information about STDs. Updated to reflect the 2010 Center for Disease Control Guidelines on the Treatment of STDs,
Williams Obstetrics, 24e This 24th edition of Williams Obstetrics has been extensively and strategically reorganized. Primarily writing for the busy practitioner—those “in the trenches”—we continue to present the detailed staples of basic obstetrics such as maternal anatomy and physiology, preconceptional and prenatal care, labor, delivery, and the puerperium, along with detailed discussions of obstetrical complications exemplified by preterm labor, hemorrhage, hypertension, and many more. Once again, we emphasize the scientific-based underpinnings of clinical obstetrics with special emphasis on biochemical and physiological principles of female reproduction.
more...less...
F. Gary Cunningham, MD, Kenneth J. Leveno, MD, Steven L. Bloom, MD, Catherine Y. Spong, MD, Jodi S. Dashe, MD, Barbara L. Hoffman, MD, Brian M. Casey, MD, Jeanne S. Sheffield, MD
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 7e The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology has been used by thousands of primary care physicians, dermatology residents, dermatologists, internists, and other health care providers principally because it facilitates dermatologic diagnosis by providing color photographs of skin lesions and, juxtaposed, a succinct summary outline of skin disorders as well as the skin signs of systemic diseases.
more...less...
Klaus Wolff, Richard Allen Johnson, Arturo P. Saavedra
Fishman's Pulmonary Diseases and Disorders, 5e While many of the elements of the book have changed, one aspect remains firmly entrenched: The book represents a coupling of the body of knowledge of pulmonary and critical care medicine with the underlying basic and applied science upon which the clinical material is based. The book is designed to appeal both to clinicians and investigators who are interested in the science of medicine, including relevant respiratory biology and underlying cellular and molecular mechanisms. We hope that readers will find it authoritative, well referenced, and a suitable platform from which to launch additional inquiry.
more...less...
Michael A. Grippi, Editor-in-Chief, Jack A. Elias, Jay A. Fishman, Robert M. Kotloff, Allan I. Pack, Robert M. Senior, Editors, Mark D. Siegel, Video Editor
The Patient History: An Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis, 2e Welcome to the second edition of The Patient History: An Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis. The purpose of this book is to introduce aspiring healthcare professionals to the timeless art of history taking, the gateway to establishing a diagnosis for a patient's symptoms. The patient's unique story lies at the heart of this endeavor and defies the categorization inherent to the printed page. There are, however, fundamental principles that can, and should, be articulated to start the novice on the correct path.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, 2013 This set provides more than 1,000 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and respiratory therapy.
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition, 2013 This encyclopedia reflects the scientific advances in the field of human nutrition. It presents the latest understanding on a wide range of nutrition-related topics including food safety, weight management, vitamins, bioengineering of foods, plant based diet and raw foods among others.
Handbook of Multicultural Mental Health, 2013 This handbook discusses the impact of cultural, ethnic, and racial variables for the assessment, diagnosis, treatment, service delivery, and development of skills for working with culturally diverse populations.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2013 Alphabetically arranged encyclopedia provides coverage of important public health concerns. Topics include diseases and conditions, health and wellness efforts, nutrition, ethics and law related topics and statistics, sanitation issues, and everyday environmental effects.
Concise Medical Dictionary (8 ed This best-selling and market-leading dictionary contains over 12,000 clear and concise entries, covering all aspects of medical science. Written by a team of medical experts, the entries are accessible and jargon-free, and complemented by over 140 illustrations and diagrams.
A Dictionary of Epidemiology (5 ed.) The completely revised, and updated edition of this classic text—sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association (IEA) and previously edited by John Last—remains the definitive dictionary in epidemiology worldwide. In fact, with contributions from over 220 epidemiologists and other users of epidemiology from around the globe, it is more than a dictionary: it includes explanations and comments on both core epidemiologic terms and on other scientific terms relevant to all professionals in clinical medicine and public health, as well as to professionals in the other health, life, and social sciences. Anyone seeking clarity on epidemiologic and methodological definitions important to human health will find it here. On the eve of a field trip to a foreign land, a health scientist remarked that if he had to limit his professional library to one volume on epidemiology, this would be the book he would choose
A Dictionary of Nursing (6 ed.) This best-selling Dictionary provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage of all aspects of nursing. The new edition has been fully updated and revised to take account of developments in nursing practice and related fields. New coverage includes recent legislation such as the Mental Capacity Act, and developing areas such as quality of life and nurse-led clinics. The Dictionary provides comprehensive treatment of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. In addition to specific nursing terms, there are many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, psychiatry, nutrition, and pharmacology (including new drugs recently introduced into medical practice).
A Dictionary of Public Health Covering all aspects of public health, this book serves as both a quick and handy reference tool and a vehicle for more leisurely browsing. The Dictionary of Public Health is an alphabetical listing of almost 5,000 words and phrases used in public health science and practice. It offers definitions, discussion, and an occasional brief commentary on the relevance of each term to people and their health. This volume is a trusted resource for answers to questions that arise in the course of public health practice, whether in the office or in the field, in interactions with the public or with the media.
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine (3 ed.) This dictionary covers all the major areas of sports science and medicine including: anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology, sports sociology, sports injuries, and training principles. It was compiled with the help of a team of eminent contributors and advisers; the third edition has been updated to incorporate recent advances, for example in the areas of gene technology and drug and doping regulations.
A Supplementary Dictionary of Anaesthesia A Supplementary Dictionary of Anaesthesia features over 150 entries that clearly define and describe essential terms relating to the science and practice of anaesthesiology, from the specific drugs that anaesthetists apply and the techniques they utilize to induce anaesthesia, to common problems that can arise during the process. These entries expand on the coverage of the topic already present in Oxford Reference’s general medical dictionaries to provide an authoritative and specialist source of reference for students and practitioners.
A Supplementary Dictionary of Audiology A Supplementary Dictionary of Audiology features over 200 entries that clearly define and describe essential terms relating to hearing, balance, and related disorders. These entries expand on the audiology coverage present in Oxford Reference’s general medical dictionaries to provide an authoritative and specialist source of reference for students and practitioners.
Hurst's The Heart, 13e Featuring an enhanced and reader-friendly design, the new edition covers need-to-know clinical advances, as well as issues that are becoming increasingly vital to cardiologists and other physicians worldwide; through the 17 thematic sections, the reader will find the most complete overview of cardiovascular topics available, plus a timely new focus on evidencebased medicine, health outcomes, and health care quality. Furthermore, as important additions to previous editions, there are 1548 full-color illustrations and 578 tables with a new attractive design.
Sherris Medical Microbiology, Sixth Edition The goal of Sherris Medical Microbiology remains unchanged from that of the first edition (1984). This book is intended to be the primary text for students of medicine and medical science who are encountering microbiology and infectious diseases for the first time. Part I opens with a chapter that explains the nature of infection and the infectious agents at the level of a general reader. The following four chapters give more detail on the immunologic, diagnostic, and epidemiologic nature of infection with minimal detail about the agents themselves. Parts II-V form the core of the text with chapters on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases, and each begins with its own chapters on basic biology, pathogenesis, and antimicrobial agents.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 19e This new edition offers a thoroughly updated presentation of the classic pathophysiologic basis of clinical medicine and details the cutting-edge methods and tools that are now available for the assessment of symptoms and the effective management of diseases in the modern patient-care environment. The text is supplemented by germane new photographs, radiographs, illustrations, atlases, patient-care algorithms, tables, and practical demonstrative videos.
more...less...
Dennis Kasper, Anthony Fauci, Stephen Hauser, Dan Longo, J. Larry Jameson, Joseph Loscalzo
Principles of Critical Care, 4e Few fields in medicine have blossomed as dramatically as critical care. When we published the first edition of Principles of Critical Care in 1992, the critically ill were treated based largely on knowledge of pathophysiology, often derived from whole animal models. The evidence base for treatment was sparse and, with few exceptions, large, well-conducted clinical trials were lacking. What a change the past two decades have brought! The nature of critical illness is far better understood at molecular, cellular, organ, whole patient, and population levels. Diagnostic and monitoring tools, such as point-of-care ultrasound, stroke volume estimating equipment, and biomarkers, have altered the way we examine our patients. New drugs and devices have been devised, tested, and applied. Large clinical trials now inform a broad range of treatments, including those for respiratory failure, septic shock, acute kidney injury, raised intracranial pressure, and anemia of critical illness. Protocols and bundles aid, and sometimes frustrate, our provision of care. The modern intensivist must both master a complex science of pathophysiology and be intimately familiar with an increasingly specialized literature.
Advances in Health Care Organization Theory (2nd Edition)
Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care (3rd Edition)
Healthcare Imperative : Lowering Costs and Improving Outcomes
Gender, Women and Primary Health Care Renewal : A Discussion Paper
Innovation in Action : A Practical Guide for the Healthcare Team by Endsley, Scott
Public Health/AAHE : Cultural Competence in Health Education and Health Promotion (2nd Edition) by Pérez, Miguel A. Luquis, Raffy R.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large collection of journal articles, abstracts, and magazine articles, covering all subjects.
CINAHL Complete: Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new window
This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals, containing evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and top journals about nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare.
MedlinePlus from the National Institutes of Health This link opens in a new window
Medline Complete This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy, and are internationally recognised as the highest standard in evidence-based health care. They may either investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation, or alternatively may assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting. A unique feature of Cochrane Reviews is that they are living documents in that they are updated with new evidence that emerges
Health Management (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This full-text database offers a trusted source of nursing and allied health literature. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition covers an array of relevant topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and many more.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window

Web sites

MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. You can use MedlinePlus to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition. Health professionals and consumers alike can depend on it for information that is authoritative and up-to-date. MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 950 diseases and conditions. There are directories, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. MedlinePlus is updated daily and can be bookmarked at the URL: http://medlineplus.gov/. There is no advertising on this site, nor does MedlinePlus endorse any company or product. Please use the link at the top of every page to send us your comments.
NYC Community Health Profiles from The Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH) The Health Department gathers data and statistics from New Yorkers and uses them to inform the public and health professionals about the health of the City over time, to establish department priorities and to shape health policy at all levels of government.
Coursera--Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students
About the Course

The language of health care providers at U.S. clinical sites is heavily infused with abbreviations and technical terms. Frequently, there is little time to ask for explanations. This course focuses on terms and abbreviations that will be heard or seen during early clinical work. Terms are presented according to the clinical context in which they will be experienced using print, audio and visual representations. A web-based clinical dictionary for beginners provides additional information about terms presented in the course as well as definitions of many important terms that could not be covered in the six week course.

Databases

Science Librarian

Stefka Tzanova

Email Me

Contact:

York College Library AC--3G01A
94-20 Guy R Brewer Blvd
Jamaica, NY 11451

Electronic journals

JAMA, The Journal of the American Medical Association Since 1883, physicians and health care professionals around the world have turned to JAMA for groundbreaking research and insightful commentary from leaders across the broad spectrum of health care.
New England Journal of Medicine. The information you can’t afford to miss has never been easier to find at NEJM.org, featuring more intuitive navigation, filters for targeted searching and 20 specialty pages. The design of NEJM.org enables you to focus on the content that matters most to you.
AJN, American Journal of Nursing AJN is the oldest and largest circulating nursing journal in the world. The Journal's mission is to promote excellence in professional nursing, with a global perspective, by providing cutting edge, evidence-based information that embraces a holistic perspective on health and nursing. Full text coverage in the Journals@Ovid database begins with the January 1996 issue.
ACP Journal Club Publishes reports of original research reviews, debate, & commentary on a broad range of topics related to the care of adults & adolescents. Intended for clinicians, clinical researchers, managers, & other persons involved in providing medical care.
Annals of internal medicine The Leading Peer-reviewed Internal Medicine Journal in the World. Providing healthcare professionals with evidence-based clinical information, cutting edge research, and thought- provoking commentaries, subscribe and gain access to 24 issues a year PLUS the two monthly sections, In the Clinic and ACP Journal Club!
more...less...
[Ann Intern Med] NLMUID: 0372351"
Journal of Internal Medicine Journal of Internal Medicine (JIM), with its International Advisory Board, has developed into a highly successful journal since it was launched in its revised form in 1989. JIM publishes original clinical work within the broad field of general and internal medicine and its sub-specialties. It features original articles, reviews, and case reports. JIM also supports and organizes scientific meetings in the form of symposia within the scope of the journal.
Immunology
Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology The Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology publishes high-impact, cutting-edge clinical and translational research papers for allergists, immunologists, dermatologists, gastroenterologists, and other physicians and researchers interested in allergic diseases and clinical immunology. Articles cover such topics as asthma, food allergy, allergic rhinitis, atopic dermatitis, primary immune deficiencies, occupational and environmental allergy, and other allergic and immunologic diseases, and include clinical trials and mechanistic studies that report on novel therapies, insights into underlying mechanisms, and other discoveries that will inform our understanding of these diseases and ultimately improve the diagnosis and management of patients. With an impact factor of 11.248, the journal ranks 1st of 23 in the Allergy category and 7th of 135 in the Immunology category in the 2013 Journal Citation Reports®, published by Thomson Reuters.
Anaesthesia Anaesthesia is the official journal of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland and is international in scope and comprehensive in coverage. It publishes original, peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of general and regional anaesthesia, intensive care and pain therapy, including research on equipment.
Journal of Clinical Anesthesia The Journal of Clinical Anesthesia (JCA) addresses all aspects of anesthesia practice, including anesthetic administration, pharmacokinetics, preoperative and postoperative considerations, coexisting disease and other complicating factors, cost issues, and similar concerns anesthesiologists contend with daily. Exceptionally high standards of presentation and accuracy are maintained. The core of the journal is original contributions on subjects relevant to clinical practice, and rigorously peer-reviewed. Highly respected international experts have joined together to form the Editorial Board, sharing their years of experience and clinical expertise. Specialized section editors cover the various subspecialties within the field. To keep your practical clinical skills current, the journal bridges the gap between the laboratory and the clinical practice of anesthesiology and critical care to clarify how new insights can improve daily practice.
Journal of the American College of Cardiology As the leader in its field, JACC publishes original peer-reviewed clinical and experimental reports on all aspects of cardiovascular disease. Topics covered include coronary artery and valve disease, congenital heart defects, vascular surgery, cardiomyopathy, drug treatment, new diagnostic techniques, findings from the laboratory, and large multicenter studies of new therapies. JACC also publishes abstracts of papers presented at the annual scientific sessions of the American College of Cardiology↗ and the reports and recommendations of the Bethesda Conferences on current topics in cardiovascular disease.
Emerging Infectious Diseases Emerging Infectious Diseases is an open access journal published monthly by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The journal is published online and also has a limited print run on acid free paper that meets the requirements of ANSI/NISO Z39.48-1984 (Permanence of Paper). Publication in EID enables compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy. Emerging Infectious Diseases follows the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors recommendations for the conduct, reporting, editing, and publishing of scholarly work in medical journals. The journal’s peer review process allows for critical assessment of submitted manuscripts by experts who are usually not part of its editorial staff. As an independent publication, the journal’s peer-review process operates independently from CDC’s clearance processes. The conclusions, findings, and opinions expressed by authors contributing to Emerging Infectious Diseases do not necessarily reflect the official position of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the Public Health Service, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, or the authors' affiliated institutions. Use of trade names is for identification only and does not imply endorsement by the Public Health Service or by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Contact us for additional information. Impact Factor (ISI Citation Reports, 2013) 7.327
Epidemiology & Infection Epidemiology & Infection publishes original reports and reviews on all aspects of infection in humans and animals. Particular emphasis is given to the epidemiology, prevention and control of infectious diseases. The scope covers the zoonoses, outbreaks, food hygiene, vaccine studies, statistics and the clinical, social and public-health aspects of infectious disease, as well as some tropical infections. It has become the key international periodical in which to find the latest reports on recently discovered infections and new technology. For those concerned with policy and planning for the control of infections, the papers on mathematical modelling of epidemics caused by historical, current and emergent infections are of particular value. Impact Factor*: 2.491 Relative ranking within Categories: Public, Environmental & Occupational Health 44/160 Infectious Diseases 40/70 *2013 Journal Citation Reports®, Thomson Reuters
Academic Emergency Medicine Academic Emergency Medicine (AEM) is the official monthly publication of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) and publishes information relevant to the practice, educational advancements, and investigation of emergency medicine. It is the second-largest peer-reviewed scientific journal in the specialty of emergency medicine
Clinics in Dermatology Clinics in Dermatology brings you the most practical and comprehensive information on the treatment and care of skin disorders. Each issue features a Guest Editor and is devoted to a single timely topic relating to clinical dermatology.
Journal of Clinical Epidemiology The Journal of Clinical Epidemiology aims at promoting the quality of clinical and patient-oriented health care research through the advancement and application of innovative methods of: ● conducting and presenting primary research; ● synthesizing research results; ● disseminating results; ● and translating results into optimal clinical practice; ● with special attention to the training of new generations of scientists and clinical practice leaders. Journal of Clinical Epidemiology has an Impact Factor of 5.478 according to the Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports® 2014 and is ranked 6th of 158 journals in the Public, Environmental & Occupational Health category.
The American Journal of Surgery The American Journal of Surgery® is a peer-reviewed journal designed for the general surgeon who performs abdominal, cancer, vascular, head and neck, breast, colorectal, and other forms of surgery. AJS is the official journal of 7 major surgical societies* and publishes their official papers as well as independently submitted clinical studies, editorials, reviews, brief reports, correspondence and book reviews.
Journal of the American College of Surgeons The Journal of the American College of Surgeons (JACS) is a monthly journal publishing peer-reviewed original contributions on all aspects of surgery. These contributions include, but are not limited to, original clinical studies, review articles, and experimental investigations with clear clinical relevance. In general, case reports are not considered for publication. As the official scientific journal of the American College of Surgeons, JACS has the goal of providing its readership the highest quality rapid retrieval of information relevant to surgeons.
You have full text access to this content Journal of the American Geriatrics Society The Journal of the American Geriatrics Society is a comprehensive and reliable source of monthly research and information about common diseases and disorders of older adults. Increase your geriatrics medical expertise by reading your copy now. The journal gives you practical, peer-reviewed, clinical guidance on a variety of topics that you can use to improve the health and quality of life for your older patients. Start reading the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society now and you’ll enjoy the most current randomized clinical trials results, the best editorials from international experts and the reviews that wrap up recent outcomes in convenient, easy-to-read articles.
Journals of Gerontology, Series A
The Journals of Gerontology, Series B
Obstetrics and Gynecology Clinics of North America Obstetrics and Gynecology Clinics of North America updates you on the latest trends in patient management, keeps you up to date on the newest advances, and provides a sound basis for choosing treatment options. Each issue focuses on a single topic in obstetrics and gynecology and is presented under the direction of an experienced editor. Topics include clinical information in maternal-fetal medicine, reproductive endocrinology and infertility, gynecologic oncology, and urogynecology as well as general obstetrics and gynecology. Obstetrics and Gynecology Clinics of North America is published four times per year, in March, June, September, and December.
The Journal of bone and joint surgery. American volume [J Bone Joint Surg Am] NLMUID: 0014030"
Journal of Orthopaedics Journal of Orthopaedics aims to be the pre-eminent orthopaedics journal and also contribute towards the improvement of the quality of health care by delivering a significant impact on the clinical practitioners through its content. The journal publishes original research work across all disciplines of orthopedics and allied sciences. It also publishes articles on continuing education, evidence updates, students' pre-specified contributions, journal clubs, health-related information of interest to our readers and letters to the editor.
American journal of clinical pathology [Am J Clin Pathol] NLMUID: 0370470"
more...less...
The American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP) is the world’s largest professional membership organization for pathologists and laboratory professionals. Our mission is to provide excellence in education, certification and advocacy on behalf of patients, pathologists and laboratory professionals across the globe. With more than 100,000 members, the society’s influence has guided the application and evolution of the pathology and laboratory medicine specialty since 1922
Academic Pediatrics Academic Pediatrics, the official journal of the Academic Pediatric Association↗, is a peer-reviewed publication whose purpose is to strengthen the research and educational base of academic general pediatrics. The journal provides leadership in pediatric education, research, patient care and advocacy. Content areas include pediatric education, emergency medicine, injury, abuse, behavioral pediatrics, holistic medicine, child health services and health policy,and the environment. The journal provides an active forum for the presentaton of pediatric educational research in diverse settings, involving medical students, residents, fellows, and practicing professionals. The journal also emphasizes important research relating to the quality of child health care, health care policy, and the organization of child health services. It also includes systematic reviews of primary care interventions and important methodologic papers to aid research in child health and education.
The Journal of Physiology The Journal of Physiology publishes original Research Papers in all areas of physiology illustrating new physiological principles or mechanisms. Papers on work at the molecular level, at the level of the cell membrane, single cells, tissues or organs and systems physiology are all considered, with an emphasis on human and mammalian physiology. The Journal Physiology is owned by The Physiological Society
Academic Psychiatry Academic Psychiatry publishes original scholarly work dedicated to innovative psychiatric education, professional development in academic psychiatry, and leadership by psychiatrists in the field of medicine. The journal aims to further knowledge in psychiatric education and stimulate improvements in the field of Academic Psychiatry. Articles address teaching, research, and administration, as well as clinical, organizational, and economic issues relevant to the academic missions of departments of psychiatry. Other features include a New Ideas section, commentaries and letters to the editor. Academic Psychiatry also gathers the best papers from meeting workshops, provides a forum for debate, and presents theme issues that focus on a single area of psychiatric education.
International Journal of Methods in Psychiatric Research The International Journal of Methods in Psychiatric Research (MPR) publishes high-standard original research of a technical, methodological, experimental and clinical nature, contributing to the theory, methodology, practice and evaluation of mental and behavioural disorders. The journal targets in particular detailed methodological and design papers from major national and international multicentre studies. There is a close working relationship with the US National Institute of Mental Health, the World Health Organisation (WHO) Diagnostic Instruments Committees, as well as several other European and international organisations.
Clinical Rehabilitation Peer reviewed multi-professional coverage of the whole field of disability and rehabilitation. Info. for professionals involved in rehabilitation from bioengineering, sociology, physiotherapy, occupational, speech & language therapy, nursing & medicine.
Physical therapy [Phys Ther] NLMUID: 0022623" Mission Statement Physical Therapy (PTJ) engages and inspires an international readership on topics related to physical therapy. As the leading international journal for research in physical therapy and related fields, PTJ publishes innovative and highly relevant content for both clinicians and scientists and uses a variety of interactive approaches to communicate that content, with the expressed purpose of improving patient care. PTJ is the official scientific journal of the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA).
Journal of Tropical Medicine Journal of Tropical Medicine is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that publishes original research articles, review articles, and clinical studies in all areas of tropical medicine.
World Journal of Urology The World Journal of Urology publishes the essential results of urological research and their practical and clinical relevance to a broad audience of urologists in research and clinical practice. In order to guarantee a balanced program, articles are published that reflect the developments in all fields of urology on an internationally advanced level. Each issue treats a main topic in review articles written by invited international experts. In addition the journal presents articles unrelated to the main topic.
BMC women's health BMC Women's Health is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of the health and wellbeing of adolescent girls and women, with a particular focus on the physical, mental, and emotional health of women in developed and developing nations. BMC Women's Health is part of the BMC series which publishes subject-specific journals focused on the needs of individual research communities across all areas of biology and medicine. We offer an efficient, fair and friendly peer review service, and are committed to publishing all sound science, provided that there is some advance in knowledge presented by the work.

Medicine: Home

Suggested sources for Medical research.

Books

Databases

Web sites

Databases

Science Librarian

Electronic journals