Health Informatics

For courses in nursing informatics. A practical guide to applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics Handbook of Informatics for Nurses & Healthcare Professionals is a complete, up-¿to-¿date overview of key issues related to adopting and applying healthcare IT and nursing informatics. It provides nurses and other healthcare professionals with a much-needed practical guide to using computer applications and healthcare information systems. The authors cover the concepts, skills, and tasks needed to achieve national IT goals to help transform healthcare delivery. The 6th edition reflects rapid changes in healthcare IT and informatics, and builds upon the expertise of contributors involved in day-to-day informatics practice, education, and research.

Discover how technology can improve patient care -- and enhance every aspect of a nurse's job performance, education, and career A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Written by leaders in nursing informatics, this comprehensive up-to-date text helps you understand how informatics can enhance every aspect of the nursing profession. This edition of Essentials of Nursing Informatics is highlighted by an outstanding team of international contributors and content that reflects the very latest concepts, technologies, policies, and required skills. Numerous case studies take the book beyond theory and add real-world relevance to the material. Essentials of Nursing Informatics is logically divided into ten sections edited by leading nurse informaticists: Nursing Informatics Technologies (Jacqueline Ann Moss) System Life Cycle (Virginia K. Saba) Informatics Theory Standards/Foundations of Nursing Informatics (Virginia K. Saba) Nursing Informatics Leadership (Kathleen Smith) Advanced Nursing Informatics in Practice (Gail E. Latimer) Nursing Informatics/Complex Applications (Kathleen A. McCormick) Educational Applications (Diane J. Skiba) Research Applications (Virginia K. Saba) Big Data Initiatives (Kathleen A. McCormick)

Informatics and technology have long been indispensable to the provision of healthcare and their importance continues to grow in this field.This book presents the 65 full papers presented at the 13th annual International Conference on Informatics, Management, and Technology in Healthcare (ICIMTH 2015), held in Athens, Greece, in July 2015. The conference attracts scientists and practitioners from all continents and treats the field of biomedical informatics in a very broad framework, examining the research and applications outcomes of informatics from cell to population, and covering a number of technologies such as imaging, sensors and biomedical equipment as well as management and organizational subjects such as legal and social issues. The conference also aims to set research priorities in health informatics.This overview of current research and development will be of interest to all those whose work involves the use of biomedical informatics in the planning, provision and management of healthcare.

Health information technologies are revolutionizing and streamlining healthcare, and uptake continues to rise dramatically. If these technologies are to be effectively implemented, capacity must be built at a regional, national and global level, and the support and involvement of both government and industry will be vital.This book presents the proceedings of the 2017 Information Technology and Communications in Health conference (ITCH 2017), held in Victoria, BC, Canada, in February 2017. The conference considers, from a variety of perspectives, what is required to move the technology forward to real, sustained and widespread use, and the solutions examined range from improvements in usability and training to the need for new and improved design of information systems, user interfaces and interoperable solutions. Government policies, mandates, initiatives and the need for regulation are also explored, as is the requirement for improved interaction between industrial, governmental and academic partners.With its focus on building the next generation of health informatics and the capacity required to deliver better healthcare worldwide, this book will be of interest to all those involved in the provision of healthcare.

Health informatics applications will be a cornerstone of the next generation healthcare delivery system. These applications will support the delivery of safe, patient-centered care, and collaborative care delivery. The complexity of modern healthcare is delivered by many different specialties, to many different patients with complex diseases and comorbidity. A one size fits all approach is not adequate to reach the triple aim of improving the patient experience of care, improving the health of populations, and reducing the per capita cost of healthcare. Health informatics applications must rather be built to be adaptable and sensitive to the complex contexts where they will be used. The health informatics community has long been interested in the role that context plays in the design, implementation and evaluation of Health IT. We have come to realize that context is not just a passive characteristic that impacts Health IT usage but rather is embedded in the core of the users, processes and outcomes that Health IT interacts with. Therefore, we need better approaches to study and understand its impact on Health IT usage in different healthcare settings. This book contains the conference papers from CSHI 2017 - Delivering 21st Century Healthcare - Building a Quality-and-Efficiency Driven System. It contains papers on a variety of topics that are divided into four sections: Theoretical approaches to investigate context sensitive health informatics to generate robust evidence, Redesigning healthcare work practices, Patient participation in healthcare design and redesign, and Human factors and usability. The 2017 CSHI conference continues our efforts to develop robust scientific evidence on context and Health IT.

The COVID-19 pandemic has increased the focus on health informatics and healthcare technology for policy makers and healthcare professionals worldwide. This book contains the 110 papers (from 160 submissions) accepted for the 18th annual International Conference on Informatics, Management, and Technology in Healthcare (ICIMTH 2020), held virtually in Athens, Greece, from 3 - 5 July 2020. The conference attracts scientists working in the field of Biomedical and Health Informatics from all continents, and this year it was held as a Virtual Conference, by means of teleconferencing, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and the consequent lockdown in many countries around the world. The call for papers for the conference started in December 2019, when signs of the new virus infection were not yet evident, so early submissions were on the usual topics as announced. But papers submitted after mid-March were mostly focused on the first results of the pandemic analysis with respect to informatics in different countries and with different perspectives of the spread of the virus and its influence on public health across the world. This book therefore includes papers on the topic of the COVID-19 pandemic in relation to informatics reporting from hospitals and institutions from around the world, including South Korea, Europe, and the USA. The book encompasses the field of biomedical and health informatics in a very broad framework, and the timely inclusion of papers on the current pandemic will make it of particular interest to all those involved in the provision of healthcare everywhere.

Health informatics-the application of information technology to healthcare delivery-is changing dramatically because of federal investment in adoption, new cloud-based technologies to encourage data sharing and patient participation, and new financial incentives to encourage coordinated care. The traditional provider- and hospital-centric view of care and health information technology is morphing into one which combines electronic records with the Internet for information exchange and data from low cost mobile- and home-based devices to create a comprehensive, more holistic electronic health record of each patient's care. This text emphasizes these contemporary approaches through a focus on ambulatory care for chronic disease, arguably the major challenge for US healthcare. Contemporary Health Informatics is divided into four sections: background on the US healthcare system and federal policies intended to re-engineer it; the core technologies of health information technology; the application of these technologies in state-of-the-art real-world products and solutions; and the mining, analysis, and visualization of the vast amounts of newly available digital health data to gain knowledge and improve care delivery. Key Features Up-to-date: written within the context of current health informatics Grounded in actual practice: numerous case studies illustrate the practical applications of the technologies discussed Forward facing: based on the evolution of the healthcare system away from hospitals and toward primary and community care Written for a broad audience: based on Dr. Braunstein's MOOC that has proven successful for learners from healthcare providers to information technologists to those with numerous other health- related backgrounds and skill sets

Ineffective discharge management can jeopardize the successful completion of hospital treatment; but a well managed transition from hospital care to care at home depends on the efficient exchange of information with out-patient healthcare providers and professionals. This is just one way in which ICT can support healthcare and provide tools which help health professions to identify and communicate relevant data. Such tools will be increasingly important in future healthcare systems, and indeed a Europe-wide ICT infrastructure for information and data exchange may do much to revolutionize the quality of healthcare. It is therefore essential that infrastructures build on well-established standards such as Integrating the Healthcare Enterprise (IHE), even if this initially takes longer to implement. This book presents the proceedings of the annual Health Informatics meets eHealth conference, held in Vienna, Austria, in May 2017. The special topic chosen for eHealth2017 is Digital Insight - Information-Driven Health & Care, and the conference addressed the increasingly international focus of eHealth and the importance of cross-border health ICT. The papers presented here cover many eHealth topics, from maternity records to rehabilitation and from staff training to information exchange. Future ICT systems will inevitably involve machine learning and predictive analytics in order to provide actionable information to health professionals and support preventive healthcare concepts, and this book provides an insight into current research in health informatics and eHealth, addressing many issues central to the future of health and care. The book will be of interest to all healthcare researchers and practitioners.

Key Advances in Clinical Informatics: Transforming Health Care through Health Information Technology provides a state-of-the-art overview of the most current subjects in clinical informatics. Leading international authorities write short, accessible, well-referenced chapters which bring readers up-to-date with key developments and likely future advances in the relevant subject areas. This book encompasses topics such as inpatient and outpatient clinical information systems, clinical decision support systems, health information technology, genomics, mobile health, telehealth and cloud-based computing. Additionally, it discusses privacy, confidentiality and security required for health data. Edited by internationally recognized authorities in the field of clinical informatics, the book is a valuable resource for medical/nursing students, clinical informaticists, clinicians in training, practicing clinicians and allied health professionals with an interest in health informatics. Presents a state-of-the-art overview of the most current subjects in clinical informatics. Provides summary boxes of key points at the beginning of each chapter to impart relevant messages in an easily digestible fashion Includes internationally acclaimed experts contributing to chapters in one accessible text Explains and illustrates through international case studies to show how the evidence presented is applied in a real world setting

The American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) defines the term biomedical informatics (BMI) as:The interdisciplinary field that studies and pursues the effective uses of biomedical data, information, and knowledge for scientific inquiry, problem solving and decision making, motivated by efforts to improve human health.This book: Applied Interdisciplinary Theory in Health Informatics: A Knowledge Base for Practitioners, explores the theories that have been applied in health informatics and the differences they have made. The editors, all proponents of evidence-based health informatics, came together within the European Federation of Medical Informatics (EFMI) Working Group on Health IT Evaluation and the International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA) Working Group on Technology Assessment and Quality Development. The purpose of the book, which has a foreword by Charles Friedman, is to move forward the agenda of evidence-based health informatics by emphasizing theory-informed work aimed at enriching the understanding of this uniquely complex field. The book takes the AMIA definition as particularly helpful in its articulation of the three foundational domains of health informatics: health science, information science, and social science and their various overlaps, and this model has been used to structure the content of the book around the major subject areas.The book discusses some of the most important and commonly used theories relevant to health informatics, and constitutes a first iteration of a consolidated knowledge base that will advance the science of the field.