Many of the databases that York College subscribes to are multi-disciplinary and will provide articles in many subject areas. However, users may find the following helpful when performing research for Psychology classes.
You can use York’s e-journal portal or Browzine to find individual e-journals, both subscription ones (in library databases) and free, open-access ones. One can browse the e-journal portal by subject or search for the titles of specific journals to find out if they are available full-text.
To find individual books and e-books on your topic, use OneSearch. To find books about depression, try selecting “Subject contains” and then type depression AND health into the search box. You can also type in the names of specific psychologists or psychological conditions, such as Carl Jung, or multiple personality.
It may also be helpful to add the phrase "AND psychological aspects" to your search, such as:
stress AND psychological aspects
obesity AND psychological aspects
Individual e-books are cataloged and are accessible by searching OneSearch. However, the Library also has several e-book collections, where one can also search the contents of e-books.
Subject specific databases:
General databases:
If you are accessing any of the subscription links above from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your CUNY Login - the same credentials you use for Blackboard and/or CUNYfirst. You can also access the databases through the York VPN - if you have already downloaded the VPN software (GlobalProtect) onto your device, just launch the program on your device. You do not have to download it again if you recently downloaded it:
(Call the I.T. Help Desk, 718-262-5311, for problems/questions about VPN).
If you have a library card for your local public library, you can also access some of their databases from home:
